Sylvia Fowles Named 2013 WNBA Defensive Player of Year

NEW YORK, Sept. 20, 2013 � Sylvia Fowles of the Chicago Sky was named the 2013 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, the WNBA announced today.

Sylvia Fowles in Pictures: 2013 DPOY Season | 2013 WNBA All-Defensive Team

Fowles, who also was named the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year in 2011, received 21 out of 39 votes from a national panel of 39 sportswriters and broadcasters. She edged out five-time winner Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever who collected 16 votes. The Atlanta Dream�s Angel McCoughtry and the Seattle Storm�s Tanisha Wright each received one vote.

The 6-6 Fowles finished second in the WNBA in blocks (2.44 bpg), anchoring a stout Sky defense that led the WNBA in opponent field goal percentage (.404), while allowing the fourth-fewest points per game (73.59). Fowles led the WNBA in rebounding (11.5 rpg), and was one of only two players (Connecticut�s Tina Charles) to average a double-double on the season, finishing with a scoring average of 16.3 points.

Fowles captured WNBA Eastern Conference Player of the Month honors in July, August, and September, as the Sky finished with a record of 24-10, good for the top seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs, as Chicago reached the postseason for the first time in franchise history. She joins Catchings, Teresa Weatherspoon, Sheryl Swoopes and Lisa Leslie as the only players to win the award more than once.

Fowles, the second overall pick in the 2008 WNBA Draft, was named an All-Star for the third time this season, and sports career averages of 16.0 points, 9.8 rebounds and 2.0 blocks over a distinguished six-year career.

In honor of being named the Defensive Player of the Year, Fowles will receive $5,000 and a trophy specially designed by Tiffany & Co.

Below are the complete results of the 2013 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year votes and a list of past recipients:


Votes Player Team
21Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky
16Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
1Angel McCoughtryAtlanta Dream
1Tanisha WrightSeattle Storm


Year Player Team
2013Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky
2012Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2011Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky
2010Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2009Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2008Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2007Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm
2006Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2005Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2004Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2003Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2002Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2001Debbie BlackMiami Sol
2000Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
1999Yolanda GriffithSacramento Monarchs
1998Teresa WeatherspoonNew York Liberty
1997Teresa WeatherspoonNew York Liberty

More �


WNBA Spotlight Presented by Boost Mobile Episode 16: All Access: Game 3 of the 2013 WNBA Finals

An all-access pass as the Lynx completed the WNBA Finals sweep against the Dream to claim their second league championship in three seasons.

All-Access: Game 2 - 2013 WNBA Finals

An all-access pass - on and off the court - as the Minnesota Lynx soundly defeat the Atlanta Dream in Game 2 of the 2013 WNBA Finals.

WNBA Finals All-Access: Game 1

An all-access pass, on and off the court, as the Minnesota Lynx soundly defeat the Atlanta Dream in Game 1 of the 2013 WNBA Finals.

All Access: Lynx Rally

The Lynx celebrated their 2013 WNBA Championship with their fans during a Target Center rally on Monday.

Lynx Celebration: Maya Moore

Lynx forward Maya Moore addressed the media after Monday's parade and Target Center celebration.