Tamika Catchings Named 2012 WNBA Defensive Player of Year

Sep 28 2012 5:00PM

NEW YORK, Sept. 28, 2012 � For the fifth time in her career, Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings has been named the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year presented by Boost Mobile, the league announced today. Catchings previously won the award in 2005, 2006, 2009 and 2010.

Catchings received 19 out of 41 votes, 11 more than Atlanta Dream guard/forward Angel McCoughtry (eight). Los Angeles Sparks teammates forward Candace Parker (six) and guard Alana Beard (four), Atlanta Dream forward Sancho Lyttle (two), Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles (one) and San Antonio Silver Stars forward Sophia Young (one) received the remaining votes.

Equally adept on the offensive end, this season Catchings finished first in the East and second overall in scoring among forwards (17.4 ppg) and third in the conference in field goals made (200). She led Indiana in rebounds (7.6 rpg), defensive rebounds (5.8 drpg), double-doubles (10), steals (2.06 spg) and blocks (0.85 bpg).

Honored as the Eastern Conference Player of the Month presented by Boost Mobile for August, Catchings ranked fourth in the league in defensive rebounds and double-doubles, fifth in steals, and sixth in rebounds.

Catchings, referred to as Indiana�s �do-everything� forward, is in her 12th season of league play. The 2011 WNBA Most Valuable Player is also a seven-time WNBA All-Star.

In honor of being named the Defensive Player of the Year presented by Boost Mobile, Catchings will receive $5,000 and a trophy specially designed by Tiffany & Co.

Below are the complete results of the 2012 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year votes and a list of past recipients:


Votes Player Team
19Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
8Angel McCoughtryAtlanta Dream
6Candace ParkerLos Angeles Sparks
4Alana BeardLos Angeles Sparks
2Sancho LyttleAtlanta Dream
1Tina CharlesConnecticut Sun
1Sophia YoungSan Antonio Silver Stars


Year Player Team
2012Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2011Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky
2010Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2009Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2008Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2007Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm
2006Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2005Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2004Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2003Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2002Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2001Debbie BlackMiami Sol
2000Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
1999Yolanda GriffithSacramento Monarchs
1998Teresa WeatherspoonNew York Liberty
1997Teresa WeatherspoonNew York Liberty

Western Conference

Conference Finals

Conference Semi Finals

Eastern Conference

Conference Finals

Conference Semi Finals