Sylvia Fowles Named 2011 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year

Sep 29 2011 1:10PM

NEW YORK, Sept. 29, 2011 � Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles was named the 2011 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, the league announced today. Fowles received 19 out of 40 votes, one more than the runner-up, Indiana Fever forward and four-time Defensive Player of the Year Tamika Catchings (18). Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles (2) and Sky guard Epiphanny Prince (1) received the remaining votes.

The WNBA�s Eastern Conference Player of the Month for August and a three-time Conference Player of the Week winner, Fowles led the league in blocks (2.0 bpg) for the second straight year. She also shared the league lead in defensive rebounds (7.3 drpg) and ranked second in overall rebounding (10.2 rpg) and double-doubles (22).

Equally adept on the offense, Fowles finished third in the league in scoring (20.0 ppg), becoming only the second player in league annals to average 20 points and 10 rebounds in a season � Chamique Holdsclaw (20.5 ppg and 10.9 rpg) for Washington in 2003.

With her fifth rebound at Los Angeles Sept. 10, Fowles became the all-time leading rebounder for the Sky, passing Candace Dupree�s mark of 980. She finished the 2011 season with 1,000 career rebounds. Her double-double versus Connecticut June 19, gave her 29, the most ever by a Sky player, breaking the team mark set by Candace Dupree (2006-2009); she recorded eight in a row from Aug. 7-28, a WNBA single-season record.

The three-time All-Star recorded her 200th career blocked shot against the Seattle Storm on July 19, which made her the 19th leading shot blocker in WNBA history. Fowles had 10 games of at least three blocks, including a season-high eight July 16, at Atlanta.

In honor of being named the Defensive Player of the Year, Fowles will receive $5,000 and a trophy specially designed by Tiffany & Co.

Below are the complete results of the 2011 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year votes and a list of past recipients:


Votes Player Team
19Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky
18Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2Tina CharlesConnecticut Sun
1Epiphanny PrinceChicago Sky


Year Player Team
2011Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky
2010Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2009Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2008Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2007Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm
2006Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2005Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2004Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2003Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2002Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2001Debbie BlackMiami Sol
2000Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
1999Yolanda GriffithSacramento Monarchs
1998Teresa WeatherspoonNew York Liberty
1997Teresa WeatherspoonNew York Liberty

Western Conference

Conference Finals

Conference Semi Finals

Eastern Conference

Conference Finals

Conference Semi Finals