New York Liberty Wins Top Pick In 2021 WNBA Draft Presented By State Farm

– Dallas Receives Second Pick; Atlanta to Select Third; Indiana Will Choose Fourth –

NEW YORK, Dec. 4, 2020 – The New York Liberty today won the 20th annual WNBA Draft Lottery presented by State Farm® and earned the top pick in the 2021 WNBA Draft presented by State Farm in April. The Lottery was conducted at the NBA office in Secaucus, New Jersey, and the results were televised on ESPN during halftime of its telecast of the DePaul vs. Louisville women’s college basketball game.

New York, which won the WNBA Draft Lottery presented by State Farm for the second consecutive year and for the second time in franchise history, entered the Lottery with the most chances to land the top pick (442 out of 1,000). After winning the Lottery for the 2020 WNBA Draft presented by State Farm, the team used the No. 1 overall pick to select Sabrina Ionescu.

The Dallas Wings, who had the third-most chances to win the top pick (178 out of 1,000), will have the second selection. The Atlanta Dream will select third after having the second-most chances to land the top pick (276). The Indiana Fever, which had 104 chances to receive the first pick, will choose fourth.

By missing the 2020 WNBA Playoffs, New York, Dallas, Atlanta and Indiana qualified for the Lottery drawing. Lottery odds were based on the cumulative records of the Liberty, Wings, Dream and Fever over the two most recent regular seasons (2019 and 2020).

A representative from the accounting firm of Ernst & Young was in attendance to oversee the Lottery process.

The following are results of the 2021 WNBA Draft Lottery presented by State Farm.


Team Combined 2019-2020 Record  Chances (out of 1,000)
1. New York 12-44 442
2. Dallas 18-38 178
3. Atlanta 15-41 276
4. Indiana 19-37 104

The order of selection for the remainder of the first round as well as the second and third round is in inverse order of the teams’ respective regular-season records solely from 2020.

The following is the remaining order of the first round, as determined by 2020.


5. Dallas from Washington (9-13) via New York (Charles, Walker-Kimbrough, 4/15/20) (Hill, 4/15/20)
6. Phoenix from Connecticut (10-12) (Bonner, 2/11/20)
7. Dallas from Chicago (12-10) (Stevens, Samuelson, 2/14/20)
8. Chicago from Phoenix (13-9) via Dallas (Diggins-Smith, 2/12/20) (Ndour, 2/12/20)
9. Minnesota (14-8)
10. Los Angeles (15-7)
11. Seattle (18-4)
12. Las Vegas (18-4)