A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Nashville Noise
The Nashville Noise joined the ABL as an expansion team for the 1998-99 season. Future Shock guard/forward Joy Holmes-Harris was a member of the Noise having been selected in the 1998 ABL Expansion Draft.

Ndiaye-Diatta, Astou (1999-2003)

The Shock drafted Ndiaye-Diatta, a product of Southern Nazarene University, in the fourth round (41st overall) in the 1999 WNBA Draft. She spent five seasons with the Shock, including the championship season of 2003, before signing as a free agent with the Indiana Fever on March 23, 2005. On April 14, 2006, Ndiaye-Diatta signed with the Houston Comets as a free agent. She was waived on May 19, but re-signed with the Comets on July 13 and finished out the season in Houston.

Ndiaye-Diatta Bio and Statistics

Nebraska, University of
The University of Nebraska, established in 1869, launched its women�s basketball program for the 1974-1975 collegiate season. Over the years, the Cornhuskers have advanced to six NCAA Tournament appearances. Anna DeForge played for Nebraska and the Detroit Shock.

New England Blizzard

The New England Blizzard was one of the original eight ABL franchises. They finished fourth in the East in 1996-97 and second in 1997-98 where they fell to the San Jose Lasers in the first round of the playoffs. New England also led the league in attendance in each of the league�s two years of existence. Barbara Farris played for the Blizzard and the Shock, and future Shock assistant coach Laurie Byrd was a 1998 Blizzard draft pick..

New Jersey Nets

Before he joined the Detroit Shock as an assistant coach, and after he helped the Pistons to their first NBA title, Rick Mahorn played for four seasons with the New Jersey Nets from 1993-96.

New Mexico, University Of
The University of New Mexico, established in 1889, began fielding an intercollegiate women's basketball team in 1974-75. They have six NCAA Tournament appearances to their credit. Abby Garchek Jaramillo, a New Mexico grad, was a member of Detroit's 2002 Training Camp roster.

New York Liberty

The New York Liberty franchise was founded in 1997 and was one of the original WNBA franchises. They are located in New York, NY and play at Madison Square Garden. During the 2004 season, the Liberty were forced out of the Garden for six games to make way for the Republican National Convention. Those games were held at Radio City Music Hall. Former Detroit Shock players Barb Farris, Rhonda Blades, Amisha Carter, Korie Hlede and Iciss Tillis have also played for the Liberty.

Nickelodeon Kids' Choice Awards
Cheryl Ford was nominated for a NIckelodeon Kids' Choice Award in the spring of 2008 in the Favorite Female Athlete category. She was joined on the ballot by tennis stars Venus and Serena Williams and racecar driver Danica Patrick.

Nolan, Deanna (2001-current)

Nolan graduated from the University of Georgia in 2001 and the Detroit Shock selected her in the first round (6th overall) of the 2001 WNBA Draft. She was named to the WNBA Eastern Conference All-Star Team in 2003, 2005, 2006 and 2007. Nolan earned All-WNBA First Team honors in 2005 and 2007 and All-WNBA Second Team honors in 2003. She also earned a spot on the 2005 and 2006 WNBA All-Defensive Second Teams and picked up a first team nod in 2007.

On May 21, 2005, she recorded the fourth triple-double in league history with 10 points, 10 rebounds and 11 assists vs. Connecticut. She is Detroit�s career scoring leader and set the franchise single-game scoring record on June 3, 2005 when she poured in 34 points against New York. She was a member of the Shock�s 2003 and 2006 WNBA Championship teams and was named WNBA Finals MVP in 2006.

In 2007, the WNBA honored Nolan for her work in the community naming here the league�s Community Assist Award Winner for June.

Nolan Bio and Statistics

Norman, Nina
Nina Norman attended the University of Texas and graduated in 2006. The Shock signed her as a free agent on February 29, 2008.

North Carolina-Chapel Hill, University Of
The University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, founded in 1795 began fielding a women's basketball team for the 1974-75 season. They have made 18 appearances in the NCAA Tournament, advanced to two Finals Fours and took home the championship trophy in 1994. Sheneika Walker, whom the Shock had on its training camp roster in 1998, played at UNC, as did Detroit's 2005 second round draft pick, Nikita Bell, and 2007 first round draft pick Ivory Latta.

North Carolina State University
North Caroline State University, established in 1887, launched its women�s basketball program for the 1973-74 collegiate season. Over the years, the Wolfpack have advanced to 19 NCAA Tournament appearances and one trip to the Final Four. Andrea Stinson played for North Carolina State and the Detroit Shock.

Notre Dame, University of
Founded in 1842, the University of Notre Dame located in South Bend, Indiana, began competitive women's basketball competition for the 1977-78 season. They have made 13 NCAA Tournament appearances, advanced to two Final Fours and won the 2001 NCAA Championship. Ruth Riley, Jackie Batteast and Niele Ivey all played for the Fighting Irish and the Detroit Shock. Ericka Haney, whom the Shock selected in the third round of the 2002 WNBA Draft, but did not make the team's final roster also played at Notre Dame. The Shock's third head coach, Bill Laimbeer, attended Notre Dame and advanced to the 1977-78 Men's Final Four.

Notre Dame was also the site of one of the Shock's 2005 preseason games � an 81-73 loss to the Indiana Fever at the Edmund P. Joyce Center.

See an error? Have a suggestion for an EnShocklopedia entry?
Send an email to feedback@palacenet.com.