A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Laimbeer, Bill (2002-current)

The winningest coach in the history of the Detroit Shock, Bill Laimbeer took over an 0-10 team during the 2002 WNBA season replacing Greg Williams and guiding the team to 9-13 mark the remainder of the summer. The following year, Laimbeer drafted Ruth Riley in the 2003 Dispersal Draft, selected Cheryl Ford with the number three pick in the 2003 WNBA Draft and led the Shock to the 2003 WNBA Championship over the Los Angeles Sparks. In doing so, he earned the league�s Coach of the Year award. Three seasons later, Laimbeer once again led the Shock to a championship with a three-games-to-two win over the Sacramento Monarchs.

Prior to joining the Shock, Laimbeer was one of the key members of the Detroit Pistons championship teams in 1989 and 1990. The Pistons acquired Laimbeer, along with Ken Carr, from the Cleveland Cavaliers on February 16, 1982 in exchange for Phill Hubbard, Paul Mokeski and the Pistons' first and second round picks in the 1982 NBA Draft. The Cavs originally selected Laimbeer out of Notre Dame in the third round (No. 21 overall) of the 1979 NBA Draft.

Lambert, Sheila (2003, 2005)

Lambert, a Baylor graduate, was drafted by the Charlotte Sting in the first round (7th overall) of the 2002 WNBA Draft. The Detroit Shock signed her as a free agent on May 23, 2003, and she was a reserve on the Shock�s 2003 WNBA Championship team. On April 17, 2004, Detroit traded Lambert , along with Erika Valek and Shereka Wright, to the Phoenix Mercury in exchange for Chandi Jones. The Mercury waived Lambert on May 4, 2004, and the Houston Comets signed her as a free agent on May 8 of that same year. Lambert signed a seven-day contract with the Shock on July 11, 2005 and signed for the remainder of the season on July 17.

Lambert Bio and Statistics

La Salle University
Founded in 1863, the La Salle Explorers began competing in women's basketball during the 1972-73 season and have made the NCAA Tournament four times. Shock Assistant Coach Cheryl Reeve played and coached at La Salle University.

Latta, Ivory (2007)

The Shock selected Ivory Latta from the University of North Carolina with the 11th overall pick in the first round of the 2007 WNBA Draft. On February 6, 2008, the Shock traded Latta to the Atlanta Dream in exchange for LaToya Thomas and the 18th pick in the 2008 WNBA Draft.

Lawson, Kara

The Detroit Shock selected Lawson out of Tennessee with the fifth overall pick in the 2003 WNBA Draft. They traded her to the Sacramento Monarchs on April 29, 2003 in exchange for Kedra Holland-Corn.

Lawson Bio and Statistics

Lieberman-(Cline), Nancy (1998-2000)

Nancy Lieberman-Cline joined the fledgling Detroit Shock franchise as its first Head Coach and General Manager after a successful collegiate and pro career that earned her a place in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women�s Basketball Hall of Fame. Lieberman coached the Shock for three years accumulating a 46-48 record and leading the team to its first postseason appearance in the 1999 season.

Liberman also played for the Phoenix Mercury in 1997 - the league's inaugural season - and is the only person to have played in the Women's Professional Basketball League (WBL) and the WNBA.

Lingor, Jenni

The Shock selected Lingor out of Southwest Missouri State in the third round (No. 33 overall) of the 2005 WNBA Draft. Detroit waived her on May 10, 2005.

Long Beach State Universty
Long Beach State, established in 1949, launched its women�s basketball program for the 1962-63 collegiate season. Over the years, the 49ers have made 11 NCAA Tournament appearances. Cindy Brown played for Long Beach State and the Detroit Shock.

Los Angeles Sparks

The Los Angeles Sparks franchise was founded in 1997 as one of the original WNBA teams. They are located in Los Angeles, California and currently play at STAPLES center. For their first four seasons, the Sparks played their home games at the Great Western Forum. Tamara Moore, Mfon Udoka and LaToya Thomas are the only players to have played for Detroit and Los Angeles.

The Sparks and Shock squared off in the 2003 WNBA Finals with the Shock winning its first-ever WNBA title two games to one.

Louisiana State University
Founded in 1860, the LSU Lady Tigers began competing in women's basketball in 1975-76 and have appeared in 16 NCAA Tournaments and three Final Fours. Elaine Powell played for the Shock and LSU.

Louisiana Tech University
Founded in 1894, the Louisiana Tech launched its women's basketball program for the 1974-75 season. Since that time, they have advaned to 23 NCAA Tournaments and 10 Final Fours and have won two National Championships (1982 and 1988). Cheryl Ford and Tamicha Jackson played at Lousiana Tech and for the Shock.

See an error? Have a suggestion for an EnShocklopedia entry?
Send an email to feedback@palacenet.com.