The Houston Comets separated themselves from the pack and emerged as the first ever WNBA champions. Cynthia Cooper led the league in postseason scoring with 28.0 points per game.


The clock hadn’t completely run out before members of the Houston Comets started to run into each other’s arms, jump up and down and raise triumphant fists in the air, all in celebration of the Championship, which would soon be theirs. Their celebration, while a few seconds premature, was on target. When the clock did wind down and the fireworks and confetti started to fly, the Comets had defeated the New York Liberty, 65-51, establishing themselves in history as the first WNBA Champions.

– Houston defeats Charlotte, 1-0
Houston 70, Charlotte 54 (Aug. 28)

– New York defeats Phoenix, 1-0
New York 59, Phoenix 41 (Aug. 28)

– Houston defeats New York, 1-0
Houston 65, New York 51 (Aug. 30)