Select Team

The WNBA regular season came to an end on September 8. See below for more information on where all teams stand and the opening-round matchups. The Playoffs begin September 11.

For the most current info, check out the Playoffs Hub

The Playoff Picture Is Set

(NOTE: Updated through games played on 9/8)

First Round (Single Elimination)
– No. 8 Phoenix Mercury at No. 5 Chicago Sky
– No. 7 Minnesota Lynx at No. 6 Seattle Storm

Second Round (Single Elimination)
– Lowest-Seeded First-Round Winner at No. 3 Los Angeles Sparks
– Highest-Seeded First-Round Winner at No. 4 Las Vegas Aces

Semifinals (Best-of-Five Series)
– Lowest Remaining Seed at No. 1 Washington Mystics
– Highest Remaining Seed at No. 2 Connecticut Sun

Finals (Best-of-Five Series)
– Tip Off September 29

The Playoff Field

(NOTE: Updated through games played on 9/8)

Washington Mystics (26-8)
– Clinched No. 1 seed, double bye to semifinals, and home-court advantage throughout the Playoffs

Connecticut Sun (23-11)
– Clinched No. 2 seed and double bye to semifinals

Los Angeles Sparks (22-12)
– Clinched No. 3 seed and first-round bye

Las Vegas Aces (21-13)
– Clinched No. 4 seed and first-round bye

Chicago Sky (20-14)
– Clinched No. 5 seed and first-round home game

Seattle Storm (18-16)
– Clinched No. 6 seed and first-round home game

Minnesota Lynx (18-16)
– Clinched No. 7 seed

Phoenix Mercury (15-19)
– Clinched No. 8 seed

Tiebreak Procedure

The following tiebreak procedure shall be used to break ties for playoff eligibility and home-court advantage.

a. Two-Way Tie Between Teams. In order to break a tie, the following criteria will be utilized in the order set forth:
(1) Better record in head-to-head games.
(2) Better winning percentage against all teams with .500 or better record at the end of the season.
(3) Better point differential in games net result of total points scored less total points allowed head-to-head.
(4) Better point differential net result of total points scored less total points allowed against all opponents.

b. More Than Two Teams Tied. As many teams as possible will be eliminated at each step. As soon as one or more teams are eliminated at any step, the process must begin again from step (1).

Playoff Format

Effective with the 2016 season, the WNBA implemented changes to playoff seeding and qualification procedures as well as the postseason format. Under the new postseason structure, the eight teams with the highest winning percentages regardless of conference qualify for the playoffs and are seeded based on their record.

Additional features of the reconfigured playoff structure are as follows:

The number of playoff rounds increased from three to four. The top two seeds receive a bye to the semifinals (third round), and the third and fourth seeds receive a bye to the second round.

Teams will be re-seeded after each postseason round.

The first and second rounds are single elimination. In the first round, the No. 5 seed hosts the No. 8 seed and the No. 6 seed hosts the No. 7 seed. In the second round, the No. 3 seed hosts the lowest-seeded first-round winner and the No. 4 seed hosts the other first-round winner.

The semifinals feature a best-of-five format, with the No. 1 overall seed playing the lowest remaining seed and the No. 2 overall seed meeting the remaining team. The Nos. 1 and 2 seeds will host Games 1, 2 and 5, and the lower-seeded teams will host Games 3 and 4 in their respective series. The WNBA Finals remain best-of-five and follow the same 2-2-1 format.

Playoff Schedule

Below is the complete list of 2019 WNBA playoff dates. All times and broadcast information to be announced. Schedule subject to change.

Wednesday Sept. 11 First Round Elimination
Sunday Sept. 15 Second Round Elimination
Tuesday Sept. 17 Semifinals Game 1
Thursday Sept.19 Semifinals Game 2
Sunday Sept. 22 Semifinals Game 3
Tuesday Sept. 24 Semifinals Game 4*
Thursday Sept. 26 Semifinals Game 5*
Sunday Sept. 29 Finals Game 1
Tuesday Oct. 1 Finals Game 2
Sunday Oct. 6 Finals Game 3
Tuesday Oct. 8 Finals Game 4*
Thursday Oct. 10 Finals Game 5*

* – If Necessary