Story Lines For WNBA Playoffs 2020

Tune in to ESPN2 tonight as WNBA Playoffs 2020 presented by AT&T tip off with two first-round single-elimination games at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.  First, the sixth-seeded Chicago Sky meets the seventh-seeded Connecticut Sun at 7 p.m. ET.  In the second game, the fifth-seeded Phoenix Mercury faces the eighth-seeded and defending WNBA champion Washington Mystics at 9 p.m. ET.


Below is information that can be used when speaking about the WNBA Playoffs with business associates, family or friends.  For complete playoff coverage, visit


PLAYOFF FORMAT: The four-round WNBA postseason features the eight teams with the best regular-season records, regardless of conference affiliation.  The top two seeds – the No. 1 Las Vegas Aces and the No. 2 Seattle Storm – earned a double bye into the WNBA Semifinals (third round).  The third and fourth seeds – the No. 3 Los Angeles Sparks and the No. 4 Minnesota Lynx – received a bye into the second round.  The first and second rounds are single-elimination games.  The WNBA Semifinals and WNBA Finals 2020 presented by YouTube TV are best-of-five series.


VIEWER’S GUIDE: The WNBA Playoffs will have a maximum of 19 games, all available across ABC, ESPN, ESPN2 and the ESPN App.  ESPN’s in-game coverage will include additional cameras that provide unique angles, player interviews after the first and third quarters, referee audio on certain calls, mic’d coaches every game and mic’d players for select matchups.  Click here for the complete schedule.


LEGENDS AND LEADERS: Three-time WNBA champions Diana Taurasi of Phoenix and Sue Bird of Seattle, the league’s career leaders in points and assists, respectively, will put their talents on display in pursuit of another title.  Taurasi, 38, is completing her 16th WNBA season.  Bird, 39, is concluding her record-tying 17th WNBA season.


SEEING STARS: 2020 WNBA Most Valuable Player candidates Napheesa Collier of Minnesota, Skylar Diggins-Smith of Phoenix, Candace Parker of Los Angeles, Breanna Stewart of Seattle, Courtney Vandersloot of Chicago and A’ja Wilson of Las Vegas are among the standouts headlining the playoffs.  Parker, who is in her 13th WNBA season, has won two MVP awards.  Stewart, the 2018 WNBA MVP, has made an impressive comeback after missing last season due to injury.


ACES HIGH: Las Vegas earned the top seed in the WNBA Playoffs with an 18-4 record.  Seattle also finished 18-4, but the Aces defeated the Storm on the final day of the regular season to clinch the No. 1 seed and enter the playoffs with a six-game winning streak.  Las Vegas is trying to win its first WNBA championship.


DRIVE FOR FIVE: Minnesota, which has won a record-tying four WNBA championships, is seeking its fifth title in the last 10 seasons.  The Lynx finished 14-8 in the regular season even though 2017 WNBA MVP and two-time WNBA Finals MVP Sylvia Fowles missed 15 games.  Minnesota is led by 2020 WNBA Rookie of the Year candidate Crystal Dangerfield and 2019 WNBA Rookie of the Year Napheesa Collier.