Select Team

Hammon, Smith, Thompson Among First-Time Nominees For Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall Of Fame

SPRINGFIELD, MA – Today, December 21st, marks the Birthday of Basketball – the game that was invented by Dr. James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts and has grown into an international pastime. As part of the celebration of this momentous day, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the eligible candidates for the Class of 2018, after revealing earlier in the week that players would now be eligible after just three seasons of retirement.

A first look at the list of eligible nominees was provided by The Jump on ESPN, hosted by Rachel Nichols and Hall of Famer Tracy McGrady. A complete list of eligible candidates can be found below.

A press conference announcing the Finalists from the North American and Women’s committee for the Class of 2018 will be held during NBA All-Star Weekend, which is scheduled for Saturday, February 17th in Los Angeles, California. The entire Class of 2018, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled during the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio, Texas.

Enshrinement festivities will take place in Springfield, Mass., September 6-8, 2018. Tickets for the various Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Enshrinement events are on sale as of noon eastern time on

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Ballot

* Indicates First-Time Nominee

North American Committee Nominations

Mark Aguirre (PLA)

Ray Allen (PLA)*

Chauncey Billups (PLA)*

Muggsy Bogues (PLA)

Irv Brown (REF)

Jim Burch (REF)

Maurice Cheeks (PLA)

Charles “Lefty” Driesell (COA)

Hugh Evans (REF)

Steve Fisher (COA)*

Bill Fitch (COA)

Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)

Richard Hamilton (PLA)*

Tim Hardaway (PLA)

Ed Hightower (REF)*

Grant Hill (PLA)*

Bob Huggins (COA)*

Kevin Johnson (PLA)

Marques Johnson (PLA)

Bobby Jones (PLA)

Jerry “Tiger” Jones (COA)

Gene Keady (COA)

Ken Kern (COA)

Jason Kidd (PLA)*

Rollie Massimino (COA)

Gary McKnight (COA)

Danny Miles (COA)

Sidney Moncrief (PLA)

Dick Motta (COA)

Steve Nash (PLA)*

Jake O’Donnell (REF)

Jim Phelan (COA)

Lamont Robinson (PLA)

Lee Rose (COA)

Bo Ryan (COA)

Bob Saulsbury (COA)

Jack Sikma (PLA)

Steve Smith (COA)

Harry Statham (COA)

Eddie Sutton (COA)

Rudy Tomjanovich (COA)

Ben Wallace (PLA)

Chris Webber (PLA)

Willie West (COA)*

Paul Westphal (PLA)


Women’s Committee Nominations

Leta Andrews (COA)

Jennifer Azzi (PLA)

Becky Hammon (PLA)*

Susie McConnell (PLA)

Pearl Moore (PLA)

Kim Mulkey (COA)

Kim Mulkey (PLA)

Harley Redin (COA)

Theresa Shank (PLA)

Katie Smith (PLA)*

Marianne Stanley (COA)

Barbara Stevens (COA)

Valerie Still (PLA)*

Tina Thompson (PLA)*

Wayland Baptist (TEA)

Teresa Weatherspoon (PLA)


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Early African-American Pioneers Committee Nominations

Clarence “Puggy” Bell

Sonny Boswell

Chuck Cooper

Bill Garrett

Inman Jackson

Clarence “Fats” Jenkins

Bucky Lew

Davage “Dave” Minor

Hudson Oliver

Al “Runt” Pullins

James “Pappy” Ricks

Paul Robeson

Eyre Saitch

William “Wee Willie” Smith


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: International Committee Nominations

Tal Brody

Jackie Chazalon

Vlade Divac

Alphonso Ford

Semen Khalipski

Vladimir Kondrashin

Toni Kukoc

Marcos Leite

Aldo Ossola

Amaury Pasos

Dan Peterson

Dino Radja

Manuel Sainz

Togo Soares

Ranko Zeravica


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Contributor Committee Nominations

Marv Albert

Al Attles

Dick Baumgartner

Henry Bibby*

Marty Blake

Vic Bubas

Wayne Duke

Harry Glickman

Marty Glickman

Simon Gourdine*

Curt Gowdy

Tim Grgurich

Del Harris

Greg Heineman*

Robert Indiana

Johnny “Red” Kerr

Bill King

John Kline

Red Klotz

Bobby Lewis

Jack McCloskey

Jerry McHale*

Johnny Most

Dennis Murphy

Joe O’Toole

Billy Packer

Jack Powers

Dee Rowe

Zelda Spoelstra

Rod Thorn*

Jim Valvano

Donnie Walsh

Frank Walsh

Rick Welts*


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Veterans Committee Nominations

1936 US Olympic Team (TEA)

1964 State Department Basketball Ambassadors (TEA)

Ron Boone (PLA)

Sid Borgia (REF)

Carl Braun (PLA)

Frank Brian (PLA)

Joe Caldwell (PLA)

Mack Calvin (PLA)

Jack Coleman (PLA)

Bob Dandridge (PLA)

Charles Eckman (REF)

Leroy Edwards (PLA)

Leo Ferris (CONT)

Clarence “Bevo” Francis (PLA)

Buck Freeman (COA)

Donnie Freeman (PLA)

Travis Grant (PLA)

Bob Grody (PLA)

Robert Harrison (PLA)

Flo Harvey (PLA)

Dick Hemric (PLA)

Cam Henderson (COA)

Robert Hopkins (PLA)

Lou Hudson (PLA)

Warren Jabali (PLA)

Jimmy Jones (PLA)

Charles Kenaith (PLA)

Freddie Lewis (PLA)

Jim Loscutoff (PLA)

Loyola of Chicago (TEA)

Billy Markward (CONT)

Ed McCluskey (COA)

Ray Mears (COA)

Francis Meehan (PLA)

Donald “Dudey” Moore (COA)

Willie Naulls (PLA)

Philadelphia SPHAS (TEA)

Mel Riebe (PLA)

Glenn Roberts (PLA)

Holcombe Rucker (CONT)

Kenny Sailors (PLA)

Fred Schaus (PLA)

Charlie Scott (PLA)

Kenny Sears (PLA)

Frank Selvy (PLA)

George Senesky (PLA)

Paul Seymour (PLA)

Charles Siler (CONT)

Talvin Skinner (PLA)

Ken Suesens (PLA)

Tennessee A&I (TEA)

Dick Van Arsdale (PLA)

Tom Van Arsdale (PLA)

Willie Wise (PLA)

Max Zaslofsky (PLA)