Roar For Four: Minnesota Lynx Win Fourth WNBA Championship in Seven Seasons

MINNEAPOLIS — Minnesota’s “Roar For Four” is complete.

The Lynx captured their fourth WNBA championship in seven seasons on Wednesday night at Williams Arena in Minneapolis, defeating the Los Angeles Sparks, 85-76, in a winner-take-all WNBA Finals Game 5. Their four titles ties them with the Houston Comets, who won the first four WNBA titles, for the most by a franchise in league history. Sylvia Fowles was named Finals MVP after recording a Finals-record 20 rebounds and 17 points.

After falling to the Sparks in heartbreaking fashion — Nneka Ogwumike’s game-winning put-back in the final seconds — in a Game 5 last season, the Lynx responded with their own victory in a deciding Finals game. They trailed Los Angeles 1-0 and 2-1 in the series before rallying back, including a Game 4 win on the road at Staples Center.

Minnesota’s triumph continued their streak of capturing the title in every odd year since 2011, and prevented the Sparks from becoming the first WNBA team to repeat as champion since 2002.