Select Team

Lauren Jackson of The Seattle Storm Is Named 2003 WNBA MVP Presented By Chevy

NEW YORK, September 14, 2003 – The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) announced today that Lauren Jackson of the Seattle Storm has been named the recipient of the 2003 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Chevy.

Jackson will receive $25,000 from the league in conjunction with the award, and Chevy will present her with a new 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. General Motors has sponsored the MVP since joining the league as an inaugural partner in 1997 and has awarded the winner a new General Motors vehicle each season.

Jackson received 406 points and 23 of a possible 54 first-place votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Tamika Catchings of the Indiana who finished third a season ago was second with 242 points, while the 2001 MVP Lisa Leslie was third (218). Minnesota’s Katie Smith (173) and Detroit’s Swin Cash (160) rounded out the top five. Media participating in the vote were asked to select their top five choices for the award, with 10 points awarded for a first-place vote, seven for second, five for third, three for fourth and one for fifth.

Although previously a two-time All-Star, Lauren Jackson had a break-out season with career highs in scoring, rebounding, assists and field goal percentage, leading her team to an 18-16 record and just missing the playoffs. Jackson led the league in scoring with 21.2 points per game while ranking in the top five in rebounds per game, blocks per game, field goals made and attempted, free throws, and double-doubles.

On June 7, Jackson became the youngest player in league history to reach 1,000 points. She also became the fifth player to record a 20-20 game, finishing with 23 points and a team-record and career-high 20 rebounds against the Charlotte Sting on July 31.

Below are the complete results of the 2003 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Chevy vote and past recipients of the award:


406 Lauren Jackson (Seattle Storm)
242 Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever)
218 Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles Sparks)
173 Katie Smith (Minnesota Lynx)
160 Swin Cash (Detroit Shock)
83 Sheryl Swoopes (Houston Comets)
71 Chamique Holdsclaw (Washington Mystics)
28 Tina Thompson (Houston Comets)
10 Yolanda Griffith (Sacramento Monarchs)
6 Cheryl Ford (Detroit Shock)
3 Ticha Penicheiro (Sacramento Monarchs)
1 Vickie Johnson (New York Liberty)
1 Dawn Staley (Charlotte Sting)
1 Shannon Johnson (Connecticut Sun)
1 Tamecka Dixon (Los Angeles Sparks)



2002 Sheryl Swoopes (Houston Comets)
2001 Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles Sparks)
2000 Sheryl Swoopes (Houston Comets)
1999 Yolanda Griffith (Sacramento Monarchs)
1998 Cynthia Cooper (Houston Comets)
1997 Cynthia Cooper (Houston Comets)