Sky’s Elena Delle Donne Named 2015 WNBA Most Valuable Player Presented By Samsung

— Scoring Champion Wins Award for First Time in Third WNBA Season —

NEW YORK, Sept. 16, 2015 Elena Delle Donne of the Chicago Sky, who posted the fifth-highest scoring average in WNBA history this season, has been named the 2015 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Samsung, the league announced today.  The third-year guard/forward earned 38 of 39 first-place votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Delle Donne won the MVP award for the first time, leading the Sky to a 21-13 record and the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs.  The second overall pick in the 2013 WNBA Draft presented by State Farm averaged a league-high 23.4 points in 31 games, scoring at least 40 points twice, 30 points five times, and 20 points 21 times.  She also shot a WNBA-best 95.0 percent (207-for-218) from the free throw line and finished third in the league in rebounding (8.4 rpg) and blocked shots (2.06 bpg).

MORE: Where Delle Donne’s Season Ranks in History | Fans Flock to See EDD, Sky

A three-time All-Star selection and the 2013 WNBA Rookie of the Year presented by Samsung, Delle Donne (385 points from voters) is the first Sky player to capture the MVP award.  Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore, the 2014 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Samsung, received one first-place vote and finished second with 246 points.  New York Liberty center Tina Charles, the 2012 MVP, was third with 181 points, followed by Phoenix Mercury center Brittney Griner (70 points) and two-time MVP forward/center Candace Parker (57 points) of the Los Angeles Sparks.  Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven for second, five for third, three for fourth, and one for fifth.

In addition to being named the WNBA Eastern Conference Player of the Month presented by Samsung for June, Delle Donne earned the conference’s Player of the Week honor a league-best five times.  She also recorded 10 double-doubles on the season, two shy of the league high shared by Parker and Jantel Lavender of the Sparks and Charles of the Liberty.

Delle Donne’s prolific free throw shooting included a Sky-record 54 consecutive makes, and her overall performance at the foul line marks the sixth time in league history that a player has made more than 200 free throws in a season.  Her 95.0 percentage was the seventh-best single-season mark in league history and the highest all time among players with more than 100 free throw attempts in a season.

MORE: Delle Donne’s Historic Free Throw Shooting

This year marks the second season that Samsung, an official WNBA marketing partner, is serving as the presenting partner of the WNBA’s highest individual honors.  The WNBA Performance Awards presented by Samsung program includes the WNBA Most Valuable Player, WNBA Most Improved Player, WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year, WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, WNBA Rookie of the Year, and the WNBA Players of the Month and Rookie of the Month awards.

In honor of being named the WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Samsung, Delle Donne will receive $15,000 and a specially designed trophy.

Below are the voting results for the 2015 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Samsung and a list of past recipients:


Points Player Team First-Place Votes
385 Elena Delle Donne Chicago Sky 38
246 Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx 1
181 Tina Charles New York Liberty
70 Brittney Griner Phoenix Mercury
57 Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks
29 DeWanna Bonner Phoenix Mercury
13 Epiphanny Prince New York Liberty
10 Angel McCoughtry Atlanta Dream
7 Courtney Vandersloot Chicago Sky
1 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks



Year Player Team
2015 Elena Delle Donne Chicago Sky
2014 Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx
2013 Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks
2012 Tina Charles Connecticut Sun
2011 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2010 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
2009 Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury
2008 Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks
2007 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
2006 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
2005 Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets
2004 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
2003 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
2002 Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets
2001 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
2000 Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets
1999 Yolanda Griffith Sacramento Monarchs
1998 Cynthia Cooper Houston Comets
1997 Cynthia Cooper Houston Comets