Dramatic WNBA Finals Leads League To Highest Postseason Attendance In Seven Years

NEW YORK, Oct. 9, 2017 – The WNBA Finals, which saw the Minnesota Lynx win their fourth title since 2011 with a decisive Game 5 victory over the Los Angeles Sparks in one of the closest Finals in the league’s 21-year history, concluded another record-breaking season, where the WNBA achieved increases for attendance, viewership, social media and merchandise during the postseason.

For the second straight year, the WNBA teams with the best regular-season records – the top-seeded Lynx and the second-seeded Sparks – met in the Finals. The Lynx, led by All-Stars Seimone Augustus, Rebekkah Brunson, Sylvia Fowles, Maya Moore, and Lindsay Whalen, joined the Houston Comets (1997-2000) as the league’s only four-time champions.  In addition, Fowles became the fifth player in WNBA history to earn regular-season MVP honors, an WNBA title and the Finals MVP award in one season joining Cynthia Cooper (1997, 1998), Lisa Leslie (2001), Diana Taurasi (2009) and Lauren Jackson (2010).

Highlights from the postseason also include: