Select Team

Briann January Receives August WNBA Cares Community Assist Award Presented By State Farm

NEW YORK, Sept. 11, 2015 – Briann January of the Indiana Fever has been awarded the August WNBA Cares Community Assist Award presented by State Farm for her community and youth outreach efforts throughout Indiana.

January remains committed to the Indiana community, participating in various PRIDE events, Get Fever FIT clinics and youth literacy initiatives.  In celebration and support of inclusion and equality, January walked in the Indiana Pride Parade alongside fellow teammates, and visited the Indiana Youth Group.  During Indy Pride Week, January played in a charity softball game, raising money in support of local LGBT initiatives.  A longtime spokesperson for the Hoosier Family of Readers program with the Indiana Department of Education, January also encourages parents to read regularly with their kids and tapes video PSA’s and audio books for the Call-The-Fever Program.

January has actively participated in the Fever’s breast health events for several years, including last month’s Breast Health Awareness Live Auction.  She autographed auction items to support the CHN Foundation’s Oncology Patient Assistance Fund.  With three aunts affected by the disease, January is dedicated to finding a cure and raising awareness for screenings.

“My position as a professional basketball player has given me the unique opportunity to engage in community outreach with the hope of improving the future,” said January.  “It is imperative we invest in our youth, and Indianapolis has many groups that are dedicated to creating positive change within the community; I’m fortunate enough to aid in their continued progress.”

The WNBA Cares Community Assist Award presented by State Farm is awarded monthly during the season to the player that best reflects the WNBA’s passion to make a difference in the community.  In recognition of January’s efforts, the WNBA and State Farm will split a $7,500 donation between the Indiana Youth Group and Christel House International.  Please visit for more information on the award and its recipients.