Select Team

Young Stars, Veteran Stalwarts Leading the Way as 2014 WNBA All-Star Balloting Presented by Boost Mobile Early Returns Announced

NEW YORK, June 23, 2014  The Chicago Skys Elena Delle Donne, who last year became the first ever rookie to lead all vote-getters for Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star, is once again setting the pace, leading all players with 16,542 votes following early returns of the 2014 WNBA All-Star Balloting presented by Boost Mobile. Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore  MVP of the 2013 WNBA Finals presented by Boost Mobile and a two-time All-Star  tops the Western Conference and ranks second overall with 16,509 votes.

Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2014 will take place at US Airways Center in Phoenix on Saturday, July 19, and will be nationally televised on ESPN, with tip-off at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT).


In addition to Delle Donne  the 2013 WNBA Rookie of the Year  the top frontcourt vote-getters in the Eastern Conference are two-time All-Star Angel McCoughtry of the Atlanta Dream (9,736) and former league MVP (2011) and eight-time All-Star Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever (8,341). Leading the way at the guard spots for the East are rookie Shoni Schimmel of conference leader Atlanta (14,635) and Ivory Latta of the Washington Mystics (5,974).

Joining Moore as the leading vote-getters in the Western Conference frontcourt are 2013 WNBA MVP and MVP of Boost Mobile All-Star 2013 Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks (13,704) and 2013 WNBA No. 1 overall draft pick Brittney Griner of the Phoenix Mercury (10,214). At the backcourt spots, six-time All-Star and 2009 WNBA MVP Diana Taurasi of Phoenix (10,487) and four-time All-Star and 2011 Finals MVP Seimone Augustus of Minnesota (10,024) are leading the pack.

The WNBA will announce the starters on July 8 during the nationally televised game on ESPN2 featuring the Los Angeles Sparks at the Minnesota Lynx (9 p.m. ET). Reserves, which are voted on by the WNBAs head coaches, will be announced on ESPN2 on July 15, during the game between the Sparks and the Indiana Fever (8 p.m. ET).

The 60 players included on the ballot represent all 12 WNBA teams. Voters are asked to select two guards and three frontcourt players (forwards and/or centers) from each conference. A write-in option is also available, allowing fans to choose players not listed on the ballot.

Fans can vote for up to 10 players per day on, mobile devices, and the WNBA Center Court App presented by Boost Mobile, and can share those All-Star picks with friends on Facebook and followers on Twitter, encouraging others to cast their ballots as well. Fans also can cast votes on Facebook and Twitter, voting for one player per day using the designated hashtag #WNBABALLOT.

Balloting will conclude at midnight ET on Wednesday, July 2.

Under WNBA guidelines, the coach of the previous season's conference champion serves as the All-Star coach for that conference, provided that the coach remains in the same position. With that, Minnesota Head Coach Cheryl Reeve, who guided the Lynx to the 2013 WNBA title, will lead the West squad.

Since Fred Williams, head coach of the 2013 Eastern Conference champion Atlanta Dream is now at the helm in Tulsa, the East head coach will be selected based on the club with the best winning percentage through games on June 29.

Individual tickets for Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2014 start at just $20 and can be purchased online at, through Ticketmaster, by dialing 800-745-3000, or at the US Airways Center Ticket Office. For every All-Star Game ticket sold, the Mercury will donate $1 to its All-Stars and Stripes program benefiting local military heroes and their families.

Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2013 took place at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., with the Western Conference squad prevailing 102-98. Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks scored a record 23 points, while the Washington Mystics Ivory Latta and Chicago Skys Epiphanny Prince led the Eastern Conference with 15 points apiece. The game also featured the WNBAs all-time leading scorer Tina Thompson  who was selected to the game for a record ninth time  making the final All-Star appearance of her career before retiring at seasons end.



Guards: Shoni Schimmel (Atl) 14,635; Ivory Latta (Was) 5,974; Cappie Pondexter (NY) 5926; Briann January (Ind) 5,341; Courtney Vandersloot (Chi) 4,972; Katie Douglas (Con) 4,182; Kara Lawson (Was) 2,914; Epiphanny Prince (Chi) 2,707; Shavonte Zellous (Ind) 2,256; Matee Ajavon (Atl) 1,556; Anna Cruz (NY) 1,517; Allison Hightower (Con) 1,109

Frontcourt: Elena Delle Donne (Chi) 16,542; Angel McCoughtry (Atl) 9,736; Tamika Catchings (Ind) 8,341; Erika de Souza (Atl) 7,579; Chiney Ogwumike (Con) 6,922; Tina Charles (NY) 5,897; Jessica Breland (Chi) 3,125; Sylvia Fowles (Chi) 2,756; Sancho Lyttle (Atl) 2,525; Erlana Larkins (Ind) 2,151; Marissa Coleman (Ind) 1,794; Emma Meesseman (Was) 1,692; Kelsey Griffin (Con) 1,240; Kelsey Bone (Con) 1,205; Kia Vaughn (Was) 1,180; Essence Carson (NY) 1,099; Monique Currie (Was) 1,044; Plenette Pierson (NY) 900


Guards: Diana Taurasi (Phx) 10,487; Seimone Augustus (Minn) 10,024; Lindsay Whalen (Minn) 8,898; Skylar Diggins (Tul) 8,447; Sue Bird (Sea) 4,506; Becky Hammon (SA) 4,216; Danielle Robinson (SA) 2,889; Erin Phillips (Phx) 2,453; Kristi Toliver (LA) 2,119; Alana Beard (LA) 1,641; Riquna Williams (Tul) 1,151; Tanisha Wright (Sea) 790

Frontcourt: Maya Moore (Minn) 16,509; Candace Parker (LA) 13,704; Brittney Griner (Phx) 10,214; Kayla McBride (SA) 6,220; Nneka Ogwumike (LA) 6,129; Janel McCarville (Minn) 5,048; Candice Dupree (Phx) 4,801; Glory Johnson (Tul) 3,329; DeWanna Bonner (Phx) 3,170; Rebekkah Brunson (Minn) 2,932; Crystal Langhorne (Sea) 2,156; Jayne Appel (SA) 2,100; Courtney Paris (Tul) 1,878; Sophia Young-Malcolm (SA) 1,611; Camille Little (Sea) 1,214; Jantel Lavender (LA) 1,181; Shekinna Stricklen (Sea) 1,027; Jordan Hooper (Tul) 996