2013 WNBA All-Star Balloting Presented by Boost Mobile Early Returns Announced

-- Fans Can Vote on WNBA.com, on Mobile Devices and on WNBA Center Court presented by Boost Mobile app --

NEW YORK, July 2, 2013  Chicago Sky rookie Elena Delle Donne leads all players with 16,761 votes following early returns of the 2013 WNBA All-Star Balloting presented by Boost Mobile. Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker, the 2008 WNBA MVP, tops the Western Conference and ranks second overall with 15,623 votes. If Delle Donne, the No. 2 overall selection in the 2013 WNBA Draft presented by State Farm, remains the leader at the conclusion of balloting at midnight ET on July 14, she would be the first WNBA rookie ever to earn the top spot.


The Connecticut Sun will host the Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Game for the third time in franchise history on Saturday, July 27. ABC will broadcast the game live at 3:30 p.m. ET from Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, CT.

In addition to Delle Donne the top vote-getters by position in the Eastern Conference include four-time All-Star (2006, 2007, 2009, 2011) Cappie Pondexter of the New York Liberty (8,670) and Epiphanny Prince of the Sky (6,898) at the guard positions, as well as seven-time All-Star (2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011) Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever (13,399) and 2009 WNBA Rookie of the Year Angel McCoughtry of the Eastern Conference-leading Atlanta Dream (8,660) at the frontcourt spots.

Joining Parker as leading vote-getters in the Western Conference are five-time All-Star (2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 20011) and 2009 WNBA MVP Diana Taurasi of the Phoenix Mercury (12,625) and three-time All-Star (2006, 2007, 2011) and 2011 Finals MVP Seimone Augustus of the Minnesota Lynx (9,095) at the guard spots, along with frontcourt players Maya Moore of Minnesota (15,128) and Brittney Griner of Phoenix (10,620).

Parker, McCoughtry, Moore, and Prince were each selected to the All-Star Game for the first time in 2011. Parker was voted as a starter but did not play due to injury; Moore, the 2011 WNBA Rookie of the Year, was part of a contingent of four rookies to appear in that game along with Danielle Adams, Liz Cambage, and Courtney Vandersloot.

The WNBA will announce the starters on July 18 during the nationally televised game on ESPN2 featuring the Phoenix Mercury at the Los Angeles Sparks at 10 p.m. ET. Reserves will be announced on ESPN2 on July 23, during the game between the New York Liberty and the Indiana Fever at 7:00 p.m. ET.

The 60 players included on the ballot represent all 12 WNBA teams. Voters are asked to select two guards and three frontcourt players from each conference. A write-in option is also available, allowing fans to choose players not listed on the ballot.

The 2013 WNBA All-Star Balloting presented by Boost Mobile allows fans worldwide to vote daily for their favorite players. Fans can cast their votes in a variety of ways, including on wnba.com, on mobile devices by visiting wnba.com/asb, on any wireless carrier, and on the WNBA Center Court presented by Boost Mobile app.

Fans will be able to share their All-Star picks with friends on Facebook and followers on Twitter, and encourage others to cast their ballots.

Individual tickets are available to the general public at Ticketmaster locations, including by phone at 1.800.745.3000, or online at ticketmaster.com or connecticutsun.com. Tickets can also be purchased at the Mohegan Sun Box Office from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily.


Guards: Cappie Pondexter (NY) 8,670; Epiphanny Prince (Chi) 6,898; Ivory Latta (Wsh) 6,772; Kara Lawson (Con) 5,785; Katie Douglas (Ind) 5,230; Briann January (Ind) 4,098; Courtney Vandersloot 3,467; Tiffany Hayes (Atl) 2,534; Allison Hightower (CON) 1,832; Armintie Herrington (Atl) 1,749
Frontcourt: Elena Delle Donne (Chi) 16,761; Tamika Catchings (Ind) 13,399; Angel McCoughtry (Atl) 8,660; Tina Charles (Con) 8,066;Sylvia Fowles (Chi) 6,633; Swin Cash (Chi) 5,854; Shavonte Zellous (Ind) 3,139; Kara Braxton (NY) 1,883; Erlana Larkins (Ind) 1,819; Crystal Langhorne (Wsh) 1,798; Erika de Souza (Atl) 1,783

Guards: Diana Taurasi (Phx) 12,625; Seimone Augustus (Minn) 9,095; Skylar Diggins (Tul) 7,764; Lindsay Whalen (Minn) 6,834; Kristi Toliver (LA) 3,797; Lindsey Harding (LA) 3,776; Becky Hammon (SA) 2,984; Danielle Robinson (SA) 2,420; Candice Wiggins (Tul) 2,178; Temeka Johnson (Sea) 1,195
Frontcourt: Candace Parker (LA) 15,623; Maya Moore (Minn) 15,128; Brittney Griner (Phx) 10,620; Glory Johnson (Tul) 6,031; Nneka Ogwumike (LA) 5,556; Rebekkah Brunson (Minn) 4,862; Tina Thompson (Sea) 4,713; DeWanna Bonner (Phx) 4,560; Candice Dupree (Phx) 4,308; Janel McCarville (Minn) 2,604; Alana Beard (LA) 2,563; Liz Cambage (Tul) 2,017

Date Location Winning Team Losing Team
July 14, 1999 Madison Square Garden (New York) West 79East 61
July 17, 2000America West Arena (Phoenix) West 73 East 61
July 16, 2001 TD Waterhouse Centre (Orlando) West 80East 72
July 15, 2002MCI Center (Washington) West 81 East 76
July 12, 2003Madison Square Garden (New York) West 84 East 75
July 9, 2005Mohegan Sun Arena (Connecticut) West 122East 99
July 12, 2006 Madison Square Garden (New York) East 98West 82
July 15, 2007 Verizon Center (Washington) East 103West 99
July 25, 2009 Mohegan Sun Arena (Connecticut) West 133East 118
July 27, 2011 AT&T Center (San Antonio) East 118 West 113

* No All-Star game was held in 2004, 2008, and 2012 due to the Olympic Games in Athens, Beijing, and London, respectively.
Similarly, no All-Star game was played in 2010, due to the FIBA World Championships in Czech Republic.
An exhibition game was conducted at Radio City Music Hall in the summer of 2004, and in 2010, an exhibition game was held at Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Conn. with a USA vs. WNBA format in the WNBA vs. USA Basketball: The Stars at the Sun.
The 2011 All-Star Game featured a record 10 first-time All-Stars and was marked by a halftime ceremony honoring the top 15 players in the WNBAs 15-year history. Seattle's Cash led the West with 21 points and 12 rebounds and was named MVP for the second time. She joined Lisa Leslie as the only other player with multiple WNBA All-Star MVP awards. Cash also earned the honor in 2009.