The following is a list of Core Players, Reserved Players, Restricted Free Agents and Unrestricted Free Agents. Teams can begin to negotiate with their own Reserved Players and any Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agents on January 15. As of February 1, teams and players can finalize deals and sign contracts and offer sheets.

CORE PLAYERSThe following players have been designated by their teams as Core Players. The Core designation gives that team exclusive negotiating rights with the player. Players can receive a Core designation only three times in their career; in 2022, it will be two times in their careers.

Nneka Ogwumike (LAS)
Liz Cambage (LVA)
Natasha Howard (SEA)

RESERVED PLAYERS Players with three or fewer years of service can receive Qualifying Offers to become Reserved Players. The player’s prior team has exclusive negotiating rights.

Jaylyn Agnew (ATL)
Alexis Prince (CHI)
Marianna Tolo (LAS)
Anna Cruz (MIN)
Temi Fagbenle (MIN)
Paris Kea (NYL)
Nayo Raincock-Ekunwe (NYL)
Joyner Holmes (NYL)
Angel Robinson (PHO)
Sonja Petrovic (PHO)
Marta Xargay (PHO)

RESTRICTED FREE AGENTS – Players with four years of service can receive Qualifying Offers to become Restricted Free Agents. Restricted free agency gives the player’s prior team the right to sign the player by matching a contract offer from another team (Right of First Refusal). If the player signs an Offer Sheet with another team, the player’s prior team has four days from the date it receives the Offer Sheet to determine whether it wishes to match. If the offer is matched, the player will remain with her prior team. If the offer is not matched within the four-day period, the player will be under contract with the offering team.

Kaela Davis (ATL)
Blake Dietrick (ATL)
Brionna Jones (CON)
Allisha Gray (DAL)
Brittney Sykes (LAS)
Erica McCall (MIN)
Nia Coffey (PHO)
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough (PHO)
Sami Whitcomb (SEA)

UNRESTRICTED FREE AGENTS – Players with fewer than five years of service who do not receive Qualifying Offers become unrestricted free agents. An unrestricted free agent is free to sign with any team provided that she is not designated as a Core Player by her prior team.

Glory Johnson (ATL)
Betnijah Laney (ATL)
Sydney Colson (CHI)
Cheyenne Parker (CHI)
Jamierra Faulkner (CHI)
Essence Carson (CON)
Jasmine Thomas (CON)
Theresa Plaisance (CON)
Alyssa Thomas (CON)
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (CON)
Bria Holmes (CON)
Kamiah Smalls (IND)
Candice Dupree (IND)
Jantel Lavender (IND)
Natalie Achonwa (IND)
Erica Wheeler (IND)
Reshanda Gray (LAS)
Candace Parker (LAS)
Seimone Augustus (LAS)
Riquna Williams (LAS)
Chelsea Gray (LAS)
Cierra Burdick (LVA)
Danielle Robinson (LVA)
Carolyn Swords (LVA)
Sugar Rodgers (LVA)
Kayla McBride (LVA)
Shenise Johnson (MIN)
Kayla Alexander (MIN)
Amanda Zahui B (NYL)
Alisia Jenkins (PHO)
Diana Taurasi (PHO)
Kia Vaughn (PHO)
Jessica Breland (PHO)
Sue Bird (SEA)
Epiphanny Prince (SEA)
Alysha Clark (SEA)
Alaina Coates (WAS)
Tina Charles (WAS)
Tianna Hawkins (WAS)
Emma Meesseman (WAS)
Aerial Powers (WAS)

Expired Contract/Team Maintains Exclusive Negotiating Rights

Separate and apart from the various categories of free agents are players whose team maintains their exclusive negotiating rights in 2021. Such players are those who opted out or otherwise did not participate for the final season of their contract.  Players with expired contracts are free to negotiate contracts with their own team but they may not negotiate with any other WNBA teams.

Renee Montgomery (ATL)
Mengran Sun (ATL)
Imani McGee-Stafford (DAL)
Bernadett Hatar (IND)
Clarissa Dos Santos (LVA)
Alina Iagupova (LAS)
Chiney Ogwumike (LAS)
Kelsey Griffin (MIN)
Maya Moore (MIN)
Cecilia Zandalasini (MIN)
Rebecca Allen (NYL)
Olcay Cakir (NYL)
Stephanie Talbot (NYL)
Yvonne Turner (PHO)
Ramu Tokashiki (SEA)
Natasha Cloud (WAS)
Lee Seul Kang (WAS)
LaToya Sanders (WAS)

Want to save this list to refer to later?

View the full WNBA Free Agency list in gallery mode by clicking the link below

Click Here For Photo Gallery