Time Out With... Shay Doron
From her high school emigration from Israel to New York City to her improbable 2006 National Championship at Maryland, at the age of 22, Liberty rookie Shay Doron has already had quite a basketball career. Get to know Doron a little better in the latest edition of "Time Out."
  • Time Out Index
  • How tall are you?
    What position do you play?
    Where are you from?
    "Ramat Hasharon, Israel."
    What high school did you attend?
    "Christ the King, Queens, New York."
    What college did you attend?
    "University of Maryland."
    What number do you wear on the court?
    Does that jersey number have any special significance?
    "I have had it throughout my career and 2 is my lucky number, so the more 2's the better. In fact, can I get 222? My mom also was No. 2 when she played volleyball for the Israeli National Team back in the day."
    What was your major?
    "Criminal justice."
    What languages do you speak other than English?
    Who has been a role model for you in basketball?
    "Nimord Meital and Galit Musai (both from Israel) and J.D. Walsh and Debbie Brajevich (both from NY). All of these people helped me at different points in my career and I am very thankful to them all."
    Who were the major non-basketball influences in your life?
    "My parents, because they have made so many sacrifices for me to accomplish my dream of being the first Israeli man or woman to play in the WNBA or NBA."
    What do your parents do?
    "My mom, Tamari, is a graphic designer. My dad, Yuda, is a high-tech computer company manager."
    When did you become interested in basketball?
    "I became interested around seventh grade and I really decided to pursue it in 10th grade."
    If you could play one-on-one against any other player or athlete, who would it be?
    "Becky Hammon, because I feel like we have similar playing styles and I have been watching her since the WNBA came out."
    Do you have any pregame superstitions or rituals?
    "I always put my right ankle brace and shoe on first because I always want to 'start off on the right foot.' "
    Of which achievement are you most proud?
    "Winning Maryland's first and only national championship."
    What is your favorite ever on-court moment?
    "The whole national championship game was memorable to me."
    What was a defining moment in your life?
    "Leaving Israel to finish high school in the U.S. for my basketball dreams because my entire family lives in Israel and I loved living there. It was very hard to leave that behind and start all over again in the middle of high school... not to mention that it is a Catholic school and I was the only Jewish person there!"
    Which other sports do you play?
    "Tennis, bowling and softball."
    Do you have any hobbies or interests outside of basketball?
    "Playing the guitar, making home movies of experiences I have, watching movies and listening to (and writing) music."
    Do you have any pets?
    "Yes, we have two dogs: Bjijina and Nick are both mutts that we found on the streets and adopted."
    How would others describe you?
    "Silly, very easy going, a really good friend that is very trust-worthy, loyal, dependable and responsible."
    How would you describe yourself?
    "The same."
    What is your favorite food?
    "Shish kebabs."
    What is your favorite color?
    What is your favorite book?
    "The Bible Code."
    What is your favorite movie?
    "Any Jim Carrey classic -- like the Dumb and Dumber and Ace Ventura movies. Also The Usual Suspects, Arlington Road, and The Prestige."
    What is your favorite television show?
    "Roswell, even though it's over now."
    Who is your favorite actress?
    "Neve Campbell."
    Who is your favorite actor?
    "Kevin Spacey."
    Who is your favorite musician/artist?
    What is the best song of all time?
    "I'll Be by Edwin McCain."
    What is the worst song of all time?
    "The Barbie Girl song by Aqua."
    What is your favorite song to karaoke to?
    "Any country song."
    What is your favorite place to visit?
    "The pool."
    If you were not a basketball player, what would you be?
    "I would work in law enforcement. Maybe the FBI or CIA."
    When your playing career is over, what might you pursue professionally?
    "Law enforcement. Definitely something out in the streets because I cannot see myself having a desk job. Also, I would want to have an occupation where I could help people as well as feel the camaraderie that I love about basketball."
    How do you plan to prepare for that career while playing basketball?
    "Keep up with new laws and keep in touch with the contacts I made while doing my internship with the U.S. Marshall Service."
    What is one surprising fact about you that not many people know?
    "I do not eat anything that has orange food coloring in it. I don't like orange M&M's, even though they taste the same!" :)

    (Photos: NBAE/Getty Images)