Women of Inspiration

For the fourth year, the Seattle Storm will honor a group of accomplished women who are leaders in their respective fields and have had a profound influence on the community. The four honorees will be recognized at a special halftime ceremony at KeyArena during the Storm's Aug. 22 "Women of Inspiration Night" game against the Indiana Fever.

As we celebrate our 10th Anniversary season, we are proud to continue our tradition of shining the spotlight on women who have done so much for our community through their leadership and dedication to excellence," said Seattle Storm President and CEO Karen Bryant. "This night reaffirms the Storm's commitment to providing young girls and boys with inspiring role models, and to demonstrate how much you can accomplish when you work hard to reach your goals."

Each honoree chosen as "Women of Inspiration" exemplifies qualities synonymous with the Storm and the WNBA, including someone who inspires others to greatness, serves as a leader or pioneer in her field and affects positive change within her company and/or community. This year's honorees are Harriet Dumba and Agnes Oswaha, co-founders of the Southern Sudanese Women's Association; Carolyn Kelly, president and chief operating officer at The Seattle Times; and Danielle Lawrie, the 2009 USA Softball Player of the Year who led the University of Washington Huskies to the NCAA Division I National Softball Championship.

Past Recipients

Dr. Sutapa Basu - Executive Director, University of Washington Women's Center
Mimi Gates - Director, Seattle Art Museum
Ramona Pierson - Founder & CEO, SynapticMash
Colleen Willoughby - Founding President, Washington Women's Foundation
Patricia Barker - Retired prima ballerina with Pacific Northwest Ballet
Bonnie Dunbar, Ph. D - President and CEO of The Museum of Flight and retired NASA Astronaut
Trish Millines Dziko - Co-founder and Executive Director of the Technology Access Foundation
Rosa Franklin - Washington State Senator and member of the Washington State Nurses Association Hall of Fame
Kathi Goertzen - KOMO 4 News
Doris Heritage - Head coach of Seattle Pacific University's women's cross country team and a former U.S. Olympic runner
Sally Jewell - President and CEO of REI
Dr. Mary-Claire King - American Cancer Society professor of medicine and genome sciences at the University of Washington
Karen Moyer - Co-Founder and Vice President of The Moyer Foundation
Mary Ellen Stone - Executive Director of the King County Sexual Assault Resource Center
Courtney Thompson - Member of the NCAA champion UW women's volleyball team