Sacramento's Edna Campbell Wins 2003 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Presented By Secret

NEW YORK, AUG. 29, 2003 -- Edna Campbell of the Sacramento Monarchs was named the recipient of the 2003 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret, designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship, the WNBA announced today.

In February 2002, Campbell became the first active WNBA player to be diagnosed with breast cancer, spending the season on the injured reserve list until she joined her teammates for the Monarchs final game of the season. She displayed that same courage and determination in her return to the Monarchs active roster for the 2003 season, as she became a full time starter while ranking seventh in the league in three-point field-goal percentage.

Edna Campbell spoke at a "Race for the Cure" event in Sacramento in May.
Steve Yeater
WNBAE/Getty Images
Once she recovered, Campbell became a champion for breast health awareness in Sacramento and nationwide. In 2002, she served as chairperson of Sacramento's Race for the Cure and honorary coach for the WNBA Breast Health Awareness Celebrity Game and hosted pre- and post-game receptions for breast cancer survivors. This year Campbell expanded her involvement to include serving as a national spokesperson for the WNBA's Breast Health Awareness program.

Along with a Tiffany-designed trophy, Campbell will receive $5,000, and she has designated an additional $5,000 charity component of the award to go the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. Finishing second and third respectively in the balloting, were Allison Feaster of the Charlotte Sting and Janeth Arcain of the Houston Comets.

"Edna Campbell exemplifies the strength of the human spirit," said WNBA President Val Ackerman. "Her courage, resiliency and her willingness to share her story so that others can benefit make her a role model for her fellow teammates as well as fans everywhere."

Jennifer Gillom, then with Phoenix Mercury and now with the Los Angeles Sparks, won the award last season. Sue Wicks, the recently retired New York Liberty forward, took the honor in 2001 and former Cleveland Rockers guard Suzie McConnell Serio, who is now head coach of the Minnesota Lynx, won the award in 2000 and in 1998. The other recipients have been Charlotte Sting guard Dawn Staley in 1999 and Haixia Zheng, who was with the Los Angeles Sparks, in 1997.

The award is named in honor of the late point guard Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to its first two WNBA Championships. Perrot passed away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Following are the results of the 2003 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret:


Edna Campbell (Sacramento Monarchs) 23
Allison Feaster (Charlotte Sting) 10
Janeth Arcain (Houston Comets) 4
Teresa Edwards (Minnesota Lynx) 3
Ruth Riley (Detroit Shock) 2
Bridget Pettis (Indiana Fever) 2
Elena Baranova (New York Liberty) 2
Sandy Brondello (Seattle Storm) 2
Murriel Page (Washington Mystics) 2
Pollyanna Johns Kimbrough (Cleveland Rockers) 1
Taj McWilliams-Franklin (Connecticut Sun) 1
Sophia Witherspoon (Los Angeles Sparks) 1
Kayte Christensen (Phoenix Mercury) 1