Team San Antonio to Defend its

Haier Shooting Stars Title

Becky Hammon and Team San Antonio shoot for third Haier Shooting Stars title in four years.
Chris Graythen/NBAE/Getty Images

- Duncan, Robinson and Hammon Shooting for San Antonio�s Third Title in Four Years -

New York, Feb. 9, 2009 � Team San Antonio will defend its Haier Shooting Stars title against Team Detroit, Team Los Angeles and Team Phoenix in this year�s competition, which will be held on NBA All-Star Saturday Night, Feb. 14, at US Airways Center in Phoenix beginning at 8 p.m. ET on TNT and ESPN Radio.

The San Antonio team, which captured the title last year in New Orleans with a time of 35.8 seconds, consists of All-Star and three-time Finals MVP Tim Duncan, David Robinson, one of the 50 Greatest Players of All-Time, and four-time WNBA All-Star Becky Hammon. Team San Antonio also captured the Shooting Stars title in 2006 with a record-setting time of 25.1 seconds. The 2006 San Antonio trio was comprised of All-Star Tony Parker, NBA legend Steve Kerr and the Silver Stars' Kendra Wecker.

Team Detroit, last year�s runner-up and the 2007 winner, is comprised of Pistons 2007 first round draft selection Aaron Afflalo, Detroit Shock head coach and general manager Bill Laimbeer, who has guided the Shock to three WNBA titles, and 2008 WNBA Finals MVP Katie Smith. Team Los Angeles, which won the inaugural competition in 2004, is made up of three-time NBA champion Derek Fisher, Michael Cooper -- the only person to have won titles in the NBA, NBA D-League and WNBA -- and three-time WNBA MVP Lisa Leslie. Team Phoenix, the 2005 Haier Shooting Stars champion, features Leandro Barbosa, the 2006-07 Sixth Man Award winner, NBA legend Dan Majerle and Tangela Smith, who helped guide the Mercury to the 2007 WNBA title.

The Haier Shooting Stars will be televised live nationally as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night, which will also feature the Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout, Sprite Slam Dunk and Playstation Skills Challenge. TNT and ESPN Radio�s national coverage will begin at 8 p.m. EST from US Airways Center. The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, Feb. 15, will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 215 countries and territories worldwide in 44 languages.

The Haier Shooting Stars contest features one current NBA player, one current WNBA player and one NBA legend on each team. There are six numbered shooting locations of increasing difficulty, with each team attempting to make all shots in numeric order in the fastest time. Each team will select a specific player rotation to follow throughout the competition. Each shot must be made before the next player begins shooting in succession. Teams have up to two minutes to complete the entire shooting course and the team that completes all six shots in the least amount of time is declared the winner. In the case of a tie, a shoot-off will be used to determine the winner.

All of this year's All-Star participants will join members of the NBA Family for the NBA Cares All-Star Day of Service on Friday, Feb. 13. The volunteers will participate in one of three projects in the Phoenix community.

About Haier America
Haier America, founded in 1999, is the Sales and Marketing arm for the Western Hemisphere for the Haier Group. Headquartered in the Haier Building at 1356 Broadway in New York, Haier America is a leader for room air conditioner, compact refrigerator, and wine cellar sales, as well as a leading force in home appliances, compact laundry, compact freezer and HDTV sales. Haier America is an Official Marketing Partner and the Official High Definition Television of the NBA

About Haier Group
Haier, a global brand founded in 1984, is one of the world�s leading white goods manufacturers. With over 50,000 employees worldwide, Haier is focused on technology research, manufacturing, trade, and financial services with over 240 subsidiary companies and over 110 design centers, plants, and trading companies. A manufacturer of major appliances and electronics, Haier produces a range of products from wine cellars, refrigerators, freezers, air conditioners, dishwashers and laundry products to small appliances, cell phones and televisions, including plasma and flat screen models.

Listed below are the previous winning teams from the Haier Shooting Stars competition:

2004 (Los Angeles)
Magic Johnson (L.A. Lakers legend), Derek Fisher (L.A. Lakers), Lisa Leslie (L.A. Sparks)

2005 (Denver)
Dan Majerle (Phoenix Suns legend), Shawn Marion (Phoenix Suns), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury)

2006 (Houston)
Steve Kerr (San Antonio Spurs legend), Tony Parker (San Antonio Spurs), Kendra Wecker (San Antonio Silver Stars)

2007 (Las Vegas)
Bill Laimbeer (Detroit Pistons legend), Chauncey Billups (Detroit Pistons), Swin Cash (Detroit Shock)

2008 (New Orleans)
David Robinson (San Antonio legend), Tim Duncan (San Antonio Spurs), Becky Hammon (San Antonio Silver Stars)