Connecticut�s Wendy Palmer and Indiana�s Kelly Miller Named Co-Recipients of 2004 WNBA Most Improved Player Award

NEW YORK, September 27 - Connecticut's Wendy Palmer and Indiana's Kelly Miller were named the 2004 WNBA Most Improved Players of the Year, each receiving nine of a possible 48 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Wendy Palmer, Connecticut Sun
Miller made the most of her off-season trade from Charlotte to Indiana by posting career highs in points (10.2), rebounds (3.2), assists (3.1), steals (1.09), blocked shots (0.15) and free-throw percentage (87.7). She finished the season ranked third in the league in free-throw percentage, eighth in three-point field goal percentage (41.1) and 16th in assists. Kelly Miller is the second person in her family to win the award as her twin sister Coco of the Washington Mystics was the 2002 recipient. This is the first time in WNBA or NBA history that siblings have both won major awards.

Palmer scored in double figures on 14 different occasions for Connecticut in 2004, and averaged 9.0 points and 5.5 rebounds - up from 4.7 points and 3.3 rebounds a year ago. She was the fourth leading scorer for the Sun and the second leading rebounder, almost doubled her assist output, doubled her steals per game, and increased her field goal percentage to 42.7 percent, up from 39.5 percent a year ago.

  As the WNBA Most Improved Players of the Year, Palmer and Miller will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy and $5,000.

Kelly Miller, Indiana Fever
Below are the complete results of the 2004 WNBA Most Improved Player voting.

9 Wendy Palmer/Kelly Miller Connecticut Sun/Indiana Fever
8 Betty Lennox Seattle Storm
5 Nakia Sanford Washington Mystics
4 Anna DeForge Phoenix Mercury
3 Elena Baranova New York Liberty
3 Penny Taylor Phoenix Mercury
2 LaToya Thomas San Antonio Silver Stars
1 Tyneshia Lewis Charlotte Sting
1 Asjha Jones Connecticut Sun
1 Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock
1 Becky Hammon New York Liberty
1 Plenette Pierson Phoenix Mercury

2004 Wendy Palmer/Kelly Miller Connecticut Sun/Indiana Fever
2003 Michelle Snow Houston Comets
2002 Coco Miller Washington Mystics
2001 Janeth Arcain Houston Comets
2000 Tari Phillips New York Liberty

Four networks will carry 2004 WNBA Playoffs action, which tips off on September 24. ABC, ESPN2, NBA TV and Oxygen provide coverage through the Conference Finals. The 2004 WNBA Finals will be televised exclusively on ESPN2.