Langhorne Heads WNBA Reserves for 2010 WNBA vs. USA Basketball: The Stars at the Sun

NEW YORK, July 6, 2010 -- Reigning Most Improved Player Crystal Langhorne of the Washington Mystics leads the list of six players selected by WNBA coaches as reserves for the WNBA stars against the U.S. Women�s National Team in the �WNBA vs. USA Basketball: The Stars at the Sun." The game, which will showcase the world�s best female basketball players at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., on July 10, will be televised by ESPN at 3:30 p.m. E.T. and the coverage will be presented by adidas.

In addition to Langhorne, coaches selected Atlanta Dream teammates Sancho Lyttle and Iziane Castro Marques. The Dream owns the best record in the Eastern Conference. Also voted to the WNBA roster were the Phoenix Mercury�s Penny Taylor, Indiana Fever�s Katie Douglas, and Minnesota Lynx's Rebekkah Brunson.

The Seattle Storm's Lauren Jackson and San Antonio Silver Stars teammates Becky Hammon, Jayne Appel, Michelle Snow and Sophia Young were named to the WNBA team roster on June 29 following the 2010 �WNBA vs. USA Basketball: The Stars at the Sun" Balloting presented by T-Mobile USA in which fans voted for their favorite 10 players. Of the 10 players selected by fans, those who are part of the USA Basketball National Team Pool -- Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Swin Cash (Seattle Storm) , and Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury) were placed on the U.S. roster.

Serving as head coach of the WNBA stars will be Brian Agler of the Seattle Storm, who earned the honor by virtue of his team having the best winning percentage through games of July 1. Nancy Darsch, the lead assistant under Agler with the Storm, will serve in the same capacity with the WNBA team during The Stars at the Sun.

The USA Basketball Women�s National Team is coached by Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut Women�s Basketball Coach. His assistants are Doug Bruno (head coach, DePaul University), Jennifer Gillom (head coach, Los Angeles Sparks) and Marynell Meadors (head coach, Atlanta Dream).

Both coaching staffs will name their respective starting lineups at a later date.


Player Team
Jayne Appel San Antonio Silver Stars
Rebekkah Brunson Minnesota Lynx
Becky Hammon San Antonio Silver Stars
Iziane Castro Marques Atlanta Dream
Katie Douglas Indiana Fever
Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
Crystal Langhorne Washington Mystics
Sancho Lyttle Atlanta Dream
Michelle Snow San Antonio Silver Stars
Penny Taylor Phoenix Mercury
Sophia Young San Antonio Silver Stars
Player Team
Sue Bird Seattle Storm
Swin Cash Seattle Storm
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
Tina Charles Connecticut Sun
Candice Dupree Phoenix Mercury
Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky
Angel McCoughtry Atlanta Dream
Maya Moore University of Connecticut
Renee Montgomery Connecticut Sun
Cappie Pondexter New York Liberty
Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury