WNBA Draft Lottery Set for Sept. 26 During ESPN�s SportsCenter

Phoenix, Tulsa, Washington among Teams in Contention for No. 1 Pick in 2013 Draft.
Ned Dishman/NBAE/Getty Images

NEW YORK, Sept. 12, 2012 � ESPN will present the 2013 WNBA Draft Lottery � to be held for the first time at ESPN in Bristol, Conn. � on Wednesday, Sept. 26, during the 6 p.m. ET edition of SportsCenter.

The winner of the Lottery will secure the top pick in the Draft, which will be held next April. In the 2012 Draft, the Los Angeles Sparks used the No. 1 overall pick to select Stanford forward Nneka Ogwumike. One year earlier, the Minnesota Lynx used the No. 1 overall pick to select Maya Moore, and went on to earn their first WNBA championship.

The Phoenix Mercury, Tulsa Shock, and Washington Mystics have been eliminated from playoff contention in 2012 and will participate in the Lottery. The fourth Lottery team has yet to be determined.

WNBA officials and a representative from the accounting firm of Ernst & Young will conduct the Draft Lottery. The Lottery will establish the first four picks of the draft. The order of selection for the remainder of the first round as well as the second and third round is determined by inverse order of the teams� respective regular-season records from 2012.

More: WNBA Draft History | Photos: All-Time No. 1 Picks | Look Back at 2012 Draft
2013 Lottery Teams: Mercury | Mystics | Shock | 4th team TBD

2013 WNBA Draft Lottery

Fourteen balls numbered 1-14 will be placed in a lottery machine and mixed. Four balls will then be drawn to the top to determine a four-digit combination. The team that has been assigned that four-ball combination will receive the No. 1 pick. The four balls will then be placed back into the machine and the process will be repeated to determine the second and third picks. The team that does not win one of the top three picks will be slotted fourth.

There are 1,001 possible combinations when four balls are drawn out of 14, without regard to their order of selection. One thousand of those combinations will be assigned to the four non-playoff teams based on their order of finish in the 2012 regular season. The remaining combination will be unassigned. If the one unassigned combination is drawn, the balls will be placed back into the machine and the process will be repeated until an assigned combination is drawn.