Tulsa's Skylar Diggins Named 2014 Most Improved Player Presented by Samsung

NEW YORK, Aug. 27, 2014 � Tulsa Shock guard Skylar Diggins is the winner of the 2014 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year presented by Samsung, the WNBA announced today. Diggins received 29 of 38 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters.

This year marks the first season that Samsung, an official WNBA marketing partner, is serving as the presenting partner of the WNBA�s highest individual honors. The WNBA Most Improved Player, WNBA Most Valuable Player, WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year, WNBA Rookie of the Year, and the WNBA Players of the Month and Rookie of the Month awards are a part of the WNBA Performance Awards presented by Samsung program.

Washington Mystics center Emma Meesseman, Shock center Courtney Paris, and Chicago Sky guard Allie Quigley tied for second in the voting with two votes apiece. Rounding out the vote-getters were Connecticut Sun guard Alex Bentley, Sky forward Jessica Breland and Phoenix Mercury center Brittney Griner, with each receiving one vote.

Diggins more than doubled her scoring average in 2014 (20.1 ppg) from 2013 (8.5 ppg), and also improved in terms of assists (5.0 apg, up from 3.8 apg in 2013) and rebounds (2.5 rpg, up from 1.9 rpg). Diggins lifted her field goal percentage from .328 a year ago to .423 this season (232-of-548) and raised her three-point shooting accuracy from .244 as a rookie to .282 (33-of-117) in 2014.

In her second season in the league, Diggins, the No. 3 overall draft pick in 2013, started all 34 games for the Shock and led Tulsa in scoring, assists, steals (1.5 spg) and minutes (35.1 mpg). Among all WNBA players, Diggins led the league in minutes, placed second in scoring and ranked fourth in assists.

In honor of being named the WNBA Most Improved Player presented by Samsung, Diggins will receive $5,000 and a specially designed trophy.

Below are the voting results of the 2014 WNBA Most Improved Player presented by Samsung, and a list of past recipients:


29 Skylar Diggins Tulsa Shock
2 Emma Meesseman Washington Mystics
2 Courtney Paris Tulsa Shock
2 Allie Quigley Chicago Sky
1 Alex Bentley Connecticut Sun
1 Jessica Breland Chicago Sky
1 Brittney Griner Phoenix Mercury


2014 Skylar Diggins Tulsa Shock
2013 Shavonte Zellous Indiana Fever
2012 Kristi Toliver Los Angeles Sparks
2011 Kia Vaughn New York Liberty
2010 Leilani Mitchell New York Liberty
2009 Crystal Langhorne Washington Mystics
2008 Ebony Hoffman Indiana Fever
2007 Janel McCarville New York Liberty
2006 Erin Buescher Sacramento Monarchs
2005 Nicole Powell Sacramento Monarchs
2004 Wendy Palmer/Kelly Miller Connecticut Sun/Indiana Fever
2003 Michelle Snow Houston Comets
2002 Coco Miller Washington Mystics
2001 Janeth Arcain Houston Comets
2000 Tari Phillips New York Liberty