Diana Taurasi Named 2009 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Kia Motors

Diana Taurasi wins the first WNBA MVP award of her career.
Barry Gossage/NBAE/Getty Images
-- Six-Year Phoenix Mercury Veteran Wins MVP for the First Time --

NEW YORK, Sept. 29, 2009 � Phoenix Mercury guard/forward Diana Taurasi has been named the 2009 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Kia Motors, the league announced today. Taurasi received 323 total points and 27 first place votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters, earning her first career MVP award. Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings ranked second with 163 points (three first place votes) while her teammate Katie Douglas finished third with 128 points (five). Taurasi�s teammate, Cappie Pondexter, finished fourth with 99 points (one).

Rounding out the top eight vote getters were San Antonio Silver Stars guard Becky Hammon with 77 points (three), Seattle Storm forward Lauren Jackson with 73 points, Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker with 39 points and Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan with 27 points. In all, five different players received first place votes this year. Jackson is a two-time WNBA MVP (2003, 2007) and Parker won the award last year as a rookie (2008).

Taurasi caps a season in which she led the WNBA with 20.4 points per game and captured her third-career Peak Performer Award for scoring (2006, 2008, 2009). She shot a career-best 46.1 percent from the field and tallied 20 or more points in 20 games this season, including a season-high 34 at New York on July 26. She boosted her league-record for 30 point games to 23 with two 30-point performances. On Sept. 5, Taurasi became the fastest player to 4,000 career points doing so in 197 games to break Lauren Jackson�s record (209). She led the league in three pointers made with 79 and ranked seventh in the league in three-point shooting percentage (40.7). Taurasi ranks 13th in league history for points scored (4,029) and third in all-time points per game (20.3).

In 2009, Taurasi ranked among the WNBA�s top ten leaders in nearly every category, including points per game (first), three point field goals made (first), three-point field goals attempted (fourth), three-point field goal percentage (seventh), free throws made (third), free throws attempted (fifth), free throw percentage (sixth), field goals made (fifth), field goals attempted (10th), blocks per game (eighth) and defensive rebounds per game (sixth).

Taurasi was also named an All-Star, her fourth such appearance, and earned the Player of the Week Award on one occasion (Aug. 17). Her efforts helped propel the Mercury to the best record in the WNBA at 23-11, which also tied a franchise record, and the top overall seed in the 2009 WNBA Playoffs.

In honor of being named the WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Kia Motors, Taurasi will receive $15,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co.

For the first time ever, a single WNBA marketing partner will present the WNBA Most Valuable Player, WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, WNBA Most Improved Player, and WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year, grouped under the banner of �The WNBA Performance Awards presented by Kia Motors.� As a Proud Partner of the WNBA and the official presenter of the awards, Kia Motors will be incorporated into the formal award presentations and will receive prominent branding in the awards coverage on WNBA.com.

Below are the top vote-getters from the 2009 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Kia Motors voting and a list of past recipients:

323Diana TaurasiPhoenix Mercury
163Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
128Katie DouglasIndiana Fever
99Cappie PondexterPhoenix Mercury
77Becky HammonSan Antonio Silver Stars
73Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm
39Candace ParkerLos Angeles Sparks
27Deanna NolanDetroit Shock
10Sue BirdSeattle Storm
9Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
8Sophia YoungSan Antonio Silver Stars
7Sancho LyttleAtlanta Dream
1Alana BeardWashington Mystics
1Candice DupreeChicago Sky
1Sylvia FowlesChicago Sky

2009Diana TaurasiPhoenix Mercury
2008Candace ParkerLos Angeles Sparks
2007Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm
2006Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2005Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2004Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2003Lauren JacksonSeattle Storm
2002Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
2001Lisa LeslieLos Angeles Sparks
2000Sheryl SwoopesHouston Comets
1999Yolanda GriffithSacramento Monarchs
1998Cynthia CooperHouston Comets
1997Cynthia CooperHouston Comets

About the WNBA
The WNBA is a unique global sports property combining competition, sportsmanship, and entertainment value with its status as an icon for social change, achievement, and diversity. Composed of 13 teams, the WNBA is the most successful women�s professional team sports league in the world. The league concluded its historic 13th regular season with increased attendance for the third consecutive year and increased viewership on ESPN2 for a second straight season. The 2009 WNBA Playoffs tipped off Sept. 16.

Through WNBA Cares, the WNBA is deeply committed to creating programs that improve the quality of life for all people, with a special emphasis on programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and positive body image, increase breast and women�s health awareness, support youth and family development, and focus on education. For more information on the WNBA, log on to www.wnba.com.