San Antonio�s Vickie Johnson Receives
2008 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

-- Twelve-Year Veteran Earns Honor for First Time --

NEW YORK, Sept. 20, 2008 - San Antonio Silver Stars guard Vickie Johnson was named the recipient of the 2008 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. Johnson wins her first Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award after collecting 14 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Johnson edged out Detroit Shock forward Taj McWilliams-Franklin, who received six tallies, and Connecticut Sun forward Tamika Raymond, who earned three votes.

Designed to honor a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- the award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August, 1999, after a seven-month battle with cancer.

"Vickie is the consummate professional," said WNBA President Donna Orender. "Her passion, love of the game and dedication to her teammates is the same today as it was 12 years ago when she helped launch the WNBA, and that's evident in the way she plays the game night in and night out."

Johnson receives the honor in her 12th season in the WNBA. She stands as one of just six "original" players - those who were on a WNBA roster in the league's inaugural season - remaining in the league. She is the all-time league leader in minutes (11,698), games (378) and playoff games (42). Her unsurpassed dedication to the game is reflected in her longevity and high level of play and by the fact that she is the only player in league history to have recorded 4,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 1,000 assists, a milestone she reached in San Antonio's 76-64 win at Detroit on July 27.

"We are so thrilled to see Vickie recognized for her great work on and off the court," said Silver Stars Head Coach Dan Hughes. "She has been an inspiration in her professionalism.

A two-time All-Star (1999, 2001), Johnson set a career high this season in rebounds per game (5.3 rpg) while tying her career bests in assists per game (3.6, 2004, 2006) and steals per game (1.1, 2001). Over her career she has started all but two of the games in which she has played.

In honor of being named the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award winner, Johnson will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co. An additional $5,000 will be designated to the charity of her choice, the American Diabetes Association.

Below are the results of the 2008 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award voting:

Votes Player Team
14 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Silver Stars
6 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Detroit Shock
3 Tamika Raymond Connecticut Sun
2 Allison Feaster Indiana Fever
2 Ivory Latta Atlanta Dream
2 Ticha Penicheiro Sacramento Monarchs
2 Cappie Pondexter Phoenix Mercury
2 Nakia Sanford Washington Mystics
1 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
1 Keisha Brown Los Angeles Sparks
1 Shannon Johnson Houston Comets
1 Cathrine Kraayeveld New York Liberty
1 Armintie Price Chicago Sky
1 Kristen Rasmussen Minnesota Lynx

About the WNBA
Comprised of 14 teams, the WNBA is the most successful women's professional team sports league in the world. The WNBA concluded its 12th regular season with increases in key metrics including attendance, ratings and web traffic. The 2008 WNBA Playoffs presented by adidas began Thursday, Sept. 18 when both the Eastern and Western Conference Semifinals tipped off with games airing on ESPN2 and NBA TV.

Through WNBA Cares, the WNBA is deeply committed to creating programs that improve the quality of life for all people, with a special emphasis on programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and positive body image, increase breast and women's health awareness, support youth and family development, and focus on education. For more information on the WNBA, log on to