2008 All-WNBA First and Second Teams Announced

-- Candace Parker, Lisa Leslie and Lindsay Whalen Headline First Team --

NEW YORK, Oct. 3, 2008 -- The 2008 All-WNBA First and Second Teams were announced by the WNBA today. Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker, who led all players in the voting process with 221 points, was selected to the First Team becoming just the fifth rookie to be bestowed with the honor. Sparks center Lisa Leslie, who joins the First Team for the eighth time in her career, finished second with 192 points. Connecticut Sun guard Lindsay Whalen was selected to the First Team for the first time in her career with 178 points.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of national sportswriters and broadcasters. Players were selected by position and received five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team designation.

Phoenix Mercury guard/forward Diana Taurasi and San Antonio Silver Stars forward Sophia Young round out the First Team with 173 and 171 points respectively.

Parker finished her first season in the WNBA as the league's top rebounder (9.5) and finished fourth in scoring (18.5 ppg). Leslie, the 2008 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, ranked behind only Parker in rebounding (8.9 rpg) and led all centers in scoring (15.1 ppg) and all players in blocks (2.9 bpg). Whalen (14.0 ppg, 5.6 rpg and 5.4 apg) became only the second player in league history to average at least 10 points, five rebounds and five assists since Nikki Teasley in 2003 (11.5 ppg, 6.3 rpg, 5.4 apg). Taurasi submitted the second-best scoring season in league history (24.1 ppg) placing just behind her own league record set in 2006 (25.3 ppg). Young set a career high in scoring (17.5 ppg) and led the Silver Stars to the franchise's only first-place finish.

The 2008 All-WNBA Second Team is comprised of Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird (166 points), San Antonio Silver Stars guard Becky Hammon (133 points), Connecticut Sun forward Asjha Jones (99 points), Detroit Shock guard/forward Deanna Nolan (95 points) and Seattle Storm center Lauren Jackson (68 points).

In honor of being named to the All-WNBA First and Second Teams, each player will receive a Tiffany & Co. designed trophy. In addition, $10,000 will be awarded to each member of the First Team, while each member of the Second Team will receive $5,000 .

Below are the complete results of the 2008 All-WNBA Team voting:

Player Team Position Points
Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks Forward 221
Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks Center 192
Lindsay Whalen Connecticut Sun Guard 178
Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury Guard/Forward 173
Sophia Young San Antonio Silver Stars Forward 171

Player Team Position Points
Sue Bird Seattle Storm Guard 166
Becky Hammon San Antonio Silver Stars Guard 133
Asjha Jones Connecticut Sun Forward 99
Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock Guard/Forward 95
Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm Center 68

About the WNBA
Comprised of 14 teams, the WNBA is the most successful women's professional team sports league in the world. The WNBA concluded its 12th regular season with increases in key metrics including attendance, ratings and web traffic. The 2008 WNBA Finals presented by adidas began Wednesday, Oct. 1 when the San Antonio Silver Stars hosted the Detroit Shock. The best-of-five series airs on ESPN2.

Through WNBA Cares, the WNBA is deeply committed to creating programs that improve the quality of life for all people, with a special emphasis on programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and positive body image, increase breast and women's health awareness, support youth and family development, and focus on education. For more information on the WNBA, log on to www.wnba.com.