Detroit�s Plenette Pierson Named 2007 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year

Earns Inaugural Award by Wide Margin

NEW YORK, Aug. 28, 2007 - Forward Plenette Pierson of the Detroit Shock has been named WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year, the league announced today. Pierson received 36 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters to earn the inaugural award. A pair of guards, Kara Lawson of the Sacramento Monarchs and Jia Perkins of the Chicago Sky, tied for second with six votes apiece.

In her fifth year in the WNBA and third with the Shock, Pierson consistently provided a spark off the bench and helped Detroit to the league's best record (24-10). She experienced a breakout year as the Shock's sixth woman, setting career highs in points (396), points per game (11.6), rebounds per game (5.8), assists per game (1.7), blocks (29), field-goal percentage (.478), field goals made (149), free-throw percentage (.754) and free-throws made (98).

A member of Detroit's WNBA championship team last season, Pierson secured a more prominent role in 2007, averaging nearly 10 more minutes, and was one of five Shock players to average double digits in the scoring column. Her career highs in scoring and rebounding also ranked the Kingwood, Texas, native among the WNBA's top 25 in both categories.

Despite coming off the bench in all 34 games, Pierson led the Shock in points five times, rebounds six times and assists four times. She also reached double figures in points 22 times, second only to Deanna Nolan and Katie Smith on the squad, and accumulated four double-doubles, doubling her previous career high in that category.

When Detroit faced off against Sacramento on May 19, Pierson scored a season-high 22 points, including her 1,000th career point in the WNBA.

Originally selected by the Mercury with the fourth overall pick in the 2003 WNBA Draft, Pierson was acquired by the Shock in exchange for Andrea Stinson and a 2006 second-round draft pick on July 29, 2005.

In honor of being named the Sixth Woman of the Year, Pierson will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co.

Below are the results of the 2007 WNBA Sixth Woman of the Year voting.


36 - Plenette Pierson - Detroit Shock
6 - Kara Lawson - Sacramento Monarchs
6 - Jia Perkins - Chicago Sky
1 - Tan White - Indiana Fever


2007* - Plenette Pierson - Detroit Shock

* Inaugural award

About the WNBA

Featuring 13 teams and the greatest female basketball players in the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women's professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2007 WNBA Playoffs tipped off on August 23 with complete coverage through the Conference Finals being provided by ABC, ESPN2 and NBA TV. The 2007 WNBA Finals begin on September 5 and will be televised on ESPN and ESPN2.