Chicago�s Armintie Price Named
2007 WNBA Rookie of the Year

- Sky G Wins Award in Convincing Style -

NEW YORK, Sept. 8, 2007 -- The WNBA announced today that Armintie Price of the Chicago Sky has been named the 2007 WNBA Rookie of the Year. Price received 30 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters to earn the award. Minnesota Lynx guard Lindsey Harding finished second with 12 votes while Los Angeles Sparks guard Sidney Spencer rounded out the voting with 10.

Price, the third overall selection in the 2007 WNBA Draft, started all 34 games for the Sky and finished third among rookies in both scoring (7.9) and assists (2.9) per game. Price played an integral role in helping the Sky improve from five wins in the franchise's inaugural season of 2006 to 14 wins in 2007. She also helped keep the Sky in the playoff picture until the final week of the regular season.

Though a 5-9 guard, Price was a key contributor on the boards (6.0 rpg) for the Sky, ranking behind only post players Candice Dupree (7.7) and Chasity Melvin (6.7). With the ball in her hands, she constantly looked to feed her teammates, and as a result ranked second on the squad in assists (2.9 apg), trailing only Dominique Canty (4.1 apg).

A native of Myrtle, Mississippi, and a graduate of the University of Mississippi, Price engineered a trip to the Elite Eight for Ole Miss in her senior season. It marked the first time the school had advanced that far since 1992. In her illustrious collegiate career, she joined Cheryl Miller as the only two players in NCAA history to amass 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds, 400 assists and 400 steals.

In honor of being named WNBA Rookie of the Year, Price will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy by Tiffany & Co.

Below are the complete results of the 2007 WNBA Rookie of the Year voting, followed by a list of previous winners:

30 - Armintie Price, Chicago Sky
12 - Lindsey Harding, Minnesota Lynx
10 - Sidney Spencer, Los Angeles Sparks

2007 - Armintie Price, Chicago Sky
2006 - Seimone Augustus, Minnesota Lynx
2005 - Temeka Johnson, Washington Mystics
2004 - Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury
2003 - Cheryl Ford, Detroit Shock
2002 - Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever
2001 - Jackie Stiles, Portland Fire
2000 - Betty Lennox, Minnesota Lynx
1999 - Chamique Holdsclaw, Washington Mystics
1998 - Tracy Reid, Charlotte Sting

About the WNBA
Featuring 13 teams and the greatest female basketball players in the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women's professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2007 WNBA Playoffs tipped off on August 23 with complete coverage through the Conference Finals being provided by ABC, ESPN2 and NBA TV. The 2007 WNBA Finals began on September 5 and are being televised on ESPN and ESPN2.