San Antonio�s Dan Hughes Named
2007 WNBA Coach of the Year

-- Earns Honor for Second Time in Career After Guiding Silver Stars' Turnaround --

NEW YORK, Sept. 8, 2007 -- San Antonio Silver Stars head coach Dan Hughes is the recipient of the 2007 WNBA Coach of the Year award presented by, the WNBA announced today. Hughes received 20 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Hughes becomes only the second coach to win multiple WNBA Coach of the Year Awards, joining former Houston Comets mentor Van Chancellor, who earned the honor three straight times from 1997-1999.

In a season in which numerous WNBA head coaches turned in outstanding efforts, Hughes' 20 votes topped the 14 tallies Phoenix Mercury head coach Paul Westhead received. The six-point margin of victory for Hughes ties the mark for the second-closest voting in league history. In 2005, John Whisenant (Sacramento Monarchs) garnered six more votes than Mike Thibault (Connecticut Sun), while in 2004, Suzie McConnell-Serio (Minnesota Lynx) edged Thibault by a single vote.

Hughes led the Silver Stars, who earned the No. 2 seed in the Western Conference, to a 20-14 record, a 14-game improvement from the team's record in 2006 (13-21). The 20 wins ties the franchise record for wins in a season, which was set in 2002 - the last year the franchise reached the playoffs prior to this season. In his three years with San Antonio, Hughes has reshaped the roster and converted the team into a championship contender.

The 2007 edition of the Silver Stars set franchise records for totals points (2,517), total rebounds (1,087), field goals made (923), three-point shots made (207), assists (567) and steals (283).

Prior to joining San Antonio, Hughes coached four seasons with the Cleveland Rockers and one with the Charlotte Sting. Over the course of his career, the Lowell, Ohio native has compiled a 116-136 record, including a 22-10 mark in 2001 when he won his first WNBA Coach of the Year Award.

Below are the voting results for 2007 WNBA Coach of the Year Award presented by as well as a list of past recipients.


20 - Dan Hughes, San Antonio Silver Stars
14 - Paul Westhead, Phoenix Mercury
6 - Bill Laimbeer, Detroit Shock
4 - Patty Coyle, New York Liberty
3 - Bo Overton, Chicago Sky
2 - Tree Rollins, Washington Mystics
1 - Jenny Boucek, Sacramento Monarchs
1 - Anne Donovan, Seattle Storm


2007 - Dan Hughes, San Antonio Silver Stars
2006 - Mike Thibault, Connecticut Sun
2005 - John Whisenant, Sacramento Monarchs
2004 - Suzie McConnell-Serio, Minnesota Lynx
2003 - Bill Laimbeer, Detroit Shock
2002 - Marianne Stanley, Washington Mystics
2001 - Dan Hughes, Cleveland Rockers
2000 - Michael Cooper, Los Angeles Sparks
1999 - Van Chancellor, Houston Comets
1998 - Van Chancellor, Houston Comets
1997 - Van Chancellor, Houston Comets

About the WNBA
Featuring 13 teams and the greatest female basketball players in the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women's professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2007 WNBA Playoffs tipped off on August 23 with complete coverage through the Conference Finals being provided by ABC, ESPN2, ESPN and NBA TV. The 2007 WNBA Finals began on September 5 and are being televised on ESPN and ESPN2.