Seimone Augustus Named 2006 WNBA Rookie of the Year

NEW YORK, August 20, 2006 - The WNBA announced today that Seimone Augustus of the Minnesota Lynx has been named the 2006 WNBA Rookie of the Year. Augustus received 34 out of a possible 56 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. The honor capped an outstanding rookie campaign in which Augustus also was selected to participate in the WNBA All-Star Game and took home the top prize in the Dribble, Dish & Swish Challenge, a skills contest that preceded the mid-season classic.

In one of the best rookie seasons in WNBA history, Augustus, the first overall selection in the 2006 Draft, started all 34 games for the Lynx and finished the year ranked second in the league in points (21.9 per game) and field-goal attempts (620), third in minutes played (1124) and fifth in free-throw percentage (89.7).

Augustus led Minnesota in scoring with 744 points, a figure more than twice that of the next highest scorer (327 by Nicole Ohlde). In the process, she also set Lynx single-season records for points in a season and most field-goals made (283), breaking the marks previously held by WNBA All-Decade Team member Katie Smith (739 points in 2001 and 208 field-goals made in 2003). The Baton Rouge, LA product notched six games of 30-points or more and led the Lynx in scoring in 27 of their 34 games, including the first nine contests.

Among WNBA rookies, Augustus ranked first in scoring, field goals made and attempted (283 - 620) and free-throw percentage.

The second consecutive Louisiana State University grad to earn the top Rookie honor - Temeka Johnson claimed the title last season - Augustus led the Lady Tigers to three NCAA Final Four appearances in four years. At LSU she captured back-to-back National Player of the Year awards including the Wade Trophy, John R. Wooden Award, Associated Press and Naismith Award in 2005 and 2006.

As the WNBA Rookie of the Year, Augustus will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy and $5,000.

Below are the complete results of the 2006 WNBA Rookie of the Year voting, followed by a list of previous winners:


34 - Seimone Augustus, Minnesota Lynx
20 - Cappie Pondexter, Phoenix Mercury
2 - Sophia Young, San Antonio Silver Stars


2006 - Seimone Augustus, Minnesota Lynx
2005 - Temeka Johnson, Washington Mystics
2004 - Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury
2003 - Cheryl Ford, Detroit Shock
2002 - Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever
2001 - Jackie Stiles, Portland Fire
2000 - Betty Lennox, Minnesota Lynx
1999 - Chamique Holdsclaw, Washington Mystics
1998 - Tracy Reid, Charlotte Sting

Featuring 14 teams and the greatest female basketball players from around the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women's professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2006 WNBA Playoffs tipped off on August 17 and complete coverage will be provided by ABC, ESPN2 and NBA TV through the conference finals. The 2006 WNBA Finals will be televised on ESPN2.