2005 All-WNBA Teams Announced

NEW YORK, Sept. 18 � For the fifth time in her career, the Houston Comets� Sheryl Swoopes occupies one of the forward spots on the 2005 All-WNBA First Team presented by Bud Light. The 2005 WNBA MVP tallied more votes than any other player.

All-WNBA players included (top row, from left) Deanna Nolan, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Diana Taurasi, (bottom row, from left) Sue Bird, Sheryl Swoopes and Becky Hammon.
Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE/Getty Images
Joining Swoopes on the First Team at forward is the Seattle Storm�s Lauren Jackson, a three-time honoree. Jackson�s teammate Sue Bird occupies one of the backcourt spots for the fourth time in her four-year career. The Detroit Shock�s Deanna Nolan rounds out the backcourt. It�s Nolan�s first appearance on the First Team. Rounding out the first team is the Sacramento Monarchs� center Yolanda Griffith, a two-time First Team performer.

The 2005 All-WNBA Second Team presented by Bud Light features five All-Stars, led by nine-time All-WNBA center Lisa Leslie. Forwards on the Second Team are 2005 Defensive Player of the Year Tamika Catchings from Indiana and 2005 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship award winner Taj McWilliams-Franklin from Connecticut. Rounding out the Second Team are the New York Liberty�s Becky Hammon and Phoenix Mercury�s Diana Taurasi in the backcourt.

Each All-WNBA player will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy. In addition, Bud Light will present $10,000 to each member of the First Team and $5,000 to each member of the Second Team.

Players named to the 2005 All-WNBA First and Second Teams were selected, by position, from a panel of national sportswriters and broadcasters, with First Team votes receiving five points and Second Team votes receiving three votes.

Below are the complete results of the 2005 All-WNBA First and Second Team voting:


Total PointsPlayer, TeamPosition
233Sheryl Swoopes (Houston Comets)Forward
223Lauren Jackson (Seattle Storm)Forward
169Deanna Nolan (Detroit Shock)Guard
142Sue Bird (Seattle Storm)Guard
164Yolanda Griffith (Sacramento Monarchs)Center


Total PointsPlayer, TeamPosition
205Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever)Forward
127Taj McWilliams-Franklin (Connecticut Sun)Forward
126Becky Hammon (New York Liberty)Guard
124Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury)Guard
106Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles Sparks)Center

Other players receiving votes:
ForwardsChamique Holdsclaw, Los Angeles Sparks (104), Cheryl Ford, Detroit Shock (15), DeMya Walker, Sacramento Monarchs (9), Nicole Powell, Sacramento Monarchs (3).
Guards � Lindsay Whalen, Connecticut Sun (118), Nykesha Sales, Connecticut Sun (91), Alana Beard, Washington Mystics (15), Ticha Penicheiro, Sacramento Monarchs (8), Janeth Arcain, Houston Comets (3).
CenterMichelle Snow, Houston Comets (9), Ann Wauters, New York Liberty (6).

Based in St. Louis, Anheuser-Busch Cos. Inc. is the leading U.S. brewer and holds a 50 percent share in Grupo Modelo, Mexico's leading brewer. In a survey of 10,000 business leaders and securities analysts, Anheuser-Busch ranked first overall in quality of products and services among nearly 600 companies researched in FORTUNE magazine's 2004 "America's Most Admired Companies" listing. The company also is one of the largest theme park operators in the United States, is a major manufacturer of aluminum cans and is the world's largest recycler of aluminum beverage containers. For more information, visit www.anheuser-busch.com or www.budweiser.com.

The WNBA continues to enjoy a successful season entering Game 3 of the Finals. Including Game 2 of the Championship series, the WNBA Playoffs on ESPN2 saw viewership increase +30 percent. Game 3 airs today on ABC at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. Game 4 will air on Tuesday on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. For more information, go to WNBA.com.