Connecticut�s Taj McWilliams-Franklin Wins 2005 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Presented By Secret

NEW YORK, Sept. 2 � Sun forward Taj McWilliams-Franklin is the recipient of the 2005 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award presented by Secret, the WNBA announced today.

McWilliams-Franklin has been active in her community including her involvement with the WNBA�s Read to Achieve program. During this past season, she participated in the dedication of the Sun Reading and Learning Center and was involved in the Basketball and Books Summer Reading program at her local library in Connecticut. In 2004, McWilliams-Franklin was the celebrity reader at the Children�s Museum of South Eastern Connecticut Nutmeg State Games, along with participating in the annual WNBA Finals Read to Achieve event.

�Taj cares about the progress of the WNBA and being an ambassador for the game,� said Coach Mike Thibault. �She�s always played with great intensity, but she�s always played the right way. Taj has earned the respect of everyone that she�s ever played against.�

The award is named in honor of the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August, 1999, after a seven-month battle with cancer. It is designed to honor a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity.

McWilliams-Franklin will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy and $5,000. In addition, she has designated an additional $5,000 to go to the Mary Elizabeth House in Richmond, Va.

Following are the all-time winners of this award:

All-Time Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Winners

2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx
2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs
2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury
2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty
2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting
1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

About Procter & Gamble
Two billion times a day, P&G brands touch the lives of people around the world. The company has one of the strongest portfolios of trusted, quality, leadership brands, including Pampers�, Tide�, Ariel�, Always�, Whisper�, Pantene�, Bounty�, Pringles�, Folgers�, Charmin�, Downy�, Lenor�, Iams�, Crest�, Actonel�, Olay� and Clairol Nice �n Easy�, Head & Shoulders�, and Wella. The P&G community consists of almost 110,000 employees working in over 80 countries worldwide. Please visit for the latest news and in-depth information about P&G and its brands.

Four networks will carry 2005 WNBA Playoffs action. ABC, ESPN, ESPN2 and NBA TV will provide coverage through the conference finals. The 2005 WNBA Finals will be televised on ABC and ESPN2.