TIME OUT WITH... Candice Dupree
If Chicago's star rookie forward Candice Dupree looks familiar, it may be because you've seen her twin sister. The former star at Temple under the tutelage of Dawn Staley considers the All-Decade great her mentor. Yet if not a basketball star, Dupree would most likely be a doctor, which might be a good way to support her shopping habits. Get to know this saxophone-playing forward in the latest installment of Time Out.
Hometown Midwest City, Oklahoma
When did you become interested in the game of basketball and when did you decide you wanted to pursue it professionally? I became interested around the age of 10. I didn't decide that I wanted to play professionally until my junior year of college.
Do you have any superstitions or rituals? If so, what are they and how did they come about? I always wear an armband on my left arm to cover up a scar. I always have to start the game off with a fresh piece of either Double Mint or Extra gum.
Name a coach who has inspired you and describe how he/she improved your game and/or helped in your development off the court. Dawn Staley because she has played at every level of basketball possible. She has helped me to become a lot more aggressive, and to see how much potential and how good of a player I really am. Coach Staley has also helped me to understand how the majority of the things that a person does on the court reflects how they are outside of basketball. So it's in your best interest to always work hard and to give it everything you've got!
Do you have any brothers or sisters? If so, what are their names and ages? Crystal Dupree, 21 (Twin sister)
Which other sports do you play? Would you rate yourself as a beginner, novice, expert, or master? Volleyball-novice.
What are your hobbies or primary interests outside of basketball? Shopping for sneakers and basically shopping for other things I don't need!
What other talents are you proud of? The fact that I am a natural athlete and pick up almost any sport very easily. I play the saxaphone.
Who were the major non-basketball influences in your life? My mom because she is the one that pushed me to stay with basketball when I felt like I didn't want to pursue it. She was also a single parent for the majority of my childhood but always managed to make sure her kids were well take care of and had everything they needed.
How would others describe you? Can be shy at times but I have a good sense of humor. I can be critical at times but all in all I am looking out for your best interest.
How would you describe yourself? I enjoy making people laugh. I myself know that I am a very critical person. I like to keep people happy and am willing to do anything for just about anyone.
What is one surprising fact about you that many people do not know? That I have a twin sister.
Of which achievement are you most proud? Being Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and Tournament MVP two years in a row in my conference.
What was a defining moment in your life and why? Receiving a full basketball scholarship to Temple University because it payed for my college education and hopefully I will be moving on to play professionally.
If you were not a basketball player, what would you be? I would probably want to be some type of doctor.
What is your favorite food? Steak.
What is your favorite color? Black.
What is your favorite book? God's Little Devotional For Graduates.
What is your favorite movie? Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.
Who is your favorite actress? Julia Roberts.
Favorite song to do a karaoke number to? I Will Survive
Favorite place to visit/spend time? Home.
When your playing career is over, what might you pursue financially and why? Trying to own my own workout facility because it will be within the sports realm but more on the business side.

(Photo by NBAE/Getty Images)

More »

Video

Elena Delle Donne and Tamika Catchings Support Lauren Hill

Last week, Lauren Hill of Mount St. Joseph University courageously took the floor for her first college game, refusing to let an inoperable brain tumor keep her from achieving her dream – and WNBA stars Elena Delle Donne and Tamika Catchings were on hand to lend their support.

All-Access: NBA All-Star Relay

To promote healthy living, the NBA teamed up with New York Road Runners for the first-ever marathon relay.

Hammon Makes Coaching Debut

Becky Hammon makes history as the first woman to be a full time NBA coach.

USA Basketball Women’s National Team: Capturing the Gold

An all access look at the team’s journey through the 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women culminating in their gold medal win

Nneka Ogwumike and Breanna Stewart: Off Day in Istanbul

During a break in their busy game schedule, Nneka Ogwumike and Breanna Stewart took a tour through Istanbul’s world famous spice market