Indiana Fever Guard Shavonte Zellous Named 2013 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year

NEW YORK, Sept. 22, 2013 Indiana Fever guard Shavonte Zellous is the winner of the 2013 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year, the WNBA announced today. Zellous received 30 of 39 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters.

[Photo Gallery: Shavonte Zellous 2013 Season]

Zellous nearly doubled her scoring average in 2013 (14.7 ppg) from 2012 (7.5 ppg), and also improved her rebounding numbers in 2013 (3.4 rpg) from 2012 (2.7 rpg). She also took her overall field goal percentage up from .369 in 2012 to .415 in 2013.

In her fifth season in the league, Zellous started all 29 games in which she appeared this season. She posted career highs in scoring, rebounds, steals (0.9 spg), blocks (0.7 bpg) and three-point field goal percentage (.348). Zellous opened the season with 15 consecutive double-figure scoring efforts, and tallied 10-or-more points in 24-of-30 contests overall. Zellous poured in a season-high 29 points on 10-of-13 shooting, including 6-of-7 from distance on June 8 against Phoenix.

Zellous is in her third full season with the Fever, which finished the 2013 campaign with a 16-18 mark, and earned the fourth seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs. She spent part of the 2010 season with Indiana as well, also splitting time with Tulsa. Zellous was drafted 11th overall by Detroit in the 2009 WNBA Draft following a standout career at the University of Pittsburgh.

There was a nine-way tie for second place, with each of the following players receiving one vote: Jane Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars); Elizabeth Cambage (Tulsa Shock); Erika de Souza (Atlanta Dream); Kelsey Griffin (Connecticut Sun); Allison Hightower (Connecticut Sun); Glory Johnson (Tulsa Shock); Danielle Robinson (San Antonio Silver Stars); Courtney Vandersloot (Chicago Sky); and Monica Wright (Minnesota Lynx).

In honor of being named the 2013 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year, Zellous will receive $5,000 and a trophy specially designed by Tiffany & Co.

Below are the complete voting results for the 2013 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year Award and a list of past recipients:


Votes Player Team
30Shavonte ZellousIndiana Fever
1Jane AppelPhoenix Mercury
1Elizabeth CambageTulsa Shock
1Erika de SouzaAtlanta Dream
1Kelsey GriffinConnecticut Sun
1Allison HightowerConnecticut Sun
1Glory JohnsonTulsa Shock
1Danielle RobinsonSan Antonio Silver Stars
1Courtney VanderslootChicago Sky
1Monica WrightMinnesota Lynx


Year Player Team
2013Shavonte ZellousIndiana Fever
2012Kristi ToliverLos Angeles Sparks
2011Kia VaughnNew York Liberty
2010Leilani MitchellNew York Liberty
2009Crystal LanghorneWashington Mystics
2008Ebony HoffmanIndiana Fever
2007Janel McCarvilleNew York Liberty
2006Erin BuescherSacramento Monarchs
2005Nicole PowellSacramento Monarchs
2004Wendy Palmer/Kelly MillerConnecticut Sun/Indiana Fever
2003Michelle SnowHouston Comets
2002Coco MillerWashington Mystics
2001Janeth ArcainHouston Comets
2000Tari PhillipsNew York Liberty



WNBA Spotlight Presented by Boost Mobile Episode 16: All Access: Game 3 of the 2013 WNBA Finals

An all-access pass as the Lynx completed the WNBA Finals sweep against the Dream to claim their second league championship in three seasons.

All-Access: Game 2 - 2013 WNBA Finals

An all-access pass - on and off the court - as the Minnesota Lynx soundly defeat the Atlanta Dream in Game 2 of the 2013 WNBA Finals.

WNBA Finals All-Access: Game 1

An all-access pass, on and off the court, as the Minnesota Lynx soundly defeat the Atlanta Dream in Game 1 of the 2013 WNBA Finals.

All Access: Lynx Rally

The Lynx celebrated their 2013 WNBA Championship with their fans during a Target Center rally on Monday.

Lynx Celebration: Maya Moore

Lynx forward Maya Moore addressed the media after Monday's parade and Target Center celebration.