Swin Cash and Tamika Catchings Win 2013 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

NEW YORK, Sept. 20 2013 – Swin Cash of the Chicago Sky and Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever were named the recipients of the 2013 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. The co-winners each received seven of 39 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters.

2013 In Pictures: Swin Cash | Tamika Catchings

Catchings, who also won the award in 2010, becomes the fourth player to be honored multiple times, joining Kara Lawson (2012, 2009), Dawn Staley (2006, 1999), and Suzie McConnell Serio (2000, 1998). Three players tied for second place in this year’s voting, Alana Beard (Los Angeles Sparks), Armintie Herrington (Atlanta Dream), and Candice Wiggins (Tulsa Shock), each receiving four votes.

Honored as the recipient of the July Community Assist Award presented by State Farm, Catchings is actively involved with a number of organizations on both a national and local level including her Catch the Stars Foundation. Through her foundation, she works to inspire others to give back to the community, promote literacy, fitness, and mentoring, while empowering youth to achieve their dreams. The MVP of the 2012 WNBA Finals Catchings serves as the league’s ambassador for the “Dribble to Stop Diabetes” campaign.

"Tamika defines hard work, dedication, leadership, and reliability,” said Coach Lin Dunn. “We could not be more proud of what she has accomplished not just as a basketball player but as a person, role model and leader for fans all over the world."

Cash, a three-time WNBA champion and 12-year veteran is deeply engaged in the Chicago area where she participates in numerous community events and speaking engagements. Through her Cash for Kids Foundation she works to inspire today’s youth through sports and other activities to motivate, educate, and elevate.

“From the day she arrived, Swin has been a vocal leader on and off the court” said Coach Pokey Chatman. “I can think of no one more deserving of this honor. As successful as she has been on the court, Swin is equally respected for her extensive community outreach.”

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to honor a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court – ethical behavior, fair play and integrity – the award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999, after a seven-month battle with cancer.

In honor of being named the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award co-winners, Cash and Catchings will each receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co. An additional $5,000 will be designated to the charity of her choice.

Below are the voting results of the 2013 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of past recipients.


Votes Player Team
7Swin CashChicago Sky
7Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
4Alana BeardLos Angeles Sparks
4Armintie HerringtonAtlana Dream
4Candice WigginsTulsa Shock
3Brittney GrinerPhoenix Mercury
3Crystal LanghorneWashington Mystics
3Leilani MitchellNew York Liberty
2Allison HightowerConnecticut Sun
2Maya MooreMinnesota Lynx


Year Player Team
2013Swin CashChicago Sky

Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2012Kara LawsonConnecticut Sun
2011Sue BirdSeattle Storm

Ruth RileySan Antonio Silver Stars
2010Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2009Kara LawsonSacramento Monarchs
2008Vickie JohnsonSan Antonio Silver Stars
2007Tully BevilaquaIndiana Fever
2006Dawn StaleyHouston Comets
2005Taj McWilliams-FranklinConnecticut Sun
2004Teresa EdwardsMinnesota Lynx
2003Edna CampbellSacramento Monarchs
2002Jennifer GillomPhoenix Mercury
2001Sue WicksNew York Liberty
2000Suzie McConnell SerioCleveland Rockers
1999Dawn StaleyCharlotte Sting
1998Suzie McConnell SerioCleveland Rockers
1997Haixia ZhengLos Angeles Sparks

More »


WNBA Spotlight Presented by Boost Mobile Episode 16: All Access: Game 3 of the 2013 WNBA Finals

An all-access pass as the Lynx completed the WNBA Finals sweep against the Dream to claim their second league championship in three seasons.

All-Access: Game 2 - 2013 WNBA Finals

An all-access pass - on and off the court - as the Minnesota Lynx soundly defeat the Atlanta Dream in Game 2 of the 2013 WNBA Finals.

WNBA Finals All-Access: Game 1

An all-access pass, on and off the court, as the Minnesota Lynx soundly defeat the Atlanta Dream in Game 1 of the 2013 WNBA Finals.

All Access: Lynx Rally

The Lynx celebrated their 2013 WNBA Championship with their fans during a Target Center rally on Monday.

Lynx Celebration: Maya Moore

Lynx forward Maya Moore addressed the media after Monday's parade and Target Center celebration.