Indiana Fever's Tamika Catchings Receives 2010 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Aug 29 2010 2:43PM

Ray Amati/NBAE/Getty Images

NEW YORK, Aug. 29 2010 Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings was named the recipient of the 2010 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. Catchings wins her first Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award after collecting 10 out of 38 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters. Catchings edged out Tulsa Shock guard Shanna Crossley, who received five votes, and New York Liberty center Taj McWilliams-Franklin, who received four votes.

Designed to honor a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court ethical behavior, fair play and integrity the award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August, 1999, after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Tamika Catchings Gallery

More Photos
Serving as an inspirational role model to millions of young girls around the world, Catchings was born with a hearing disability and wore a hearing aid as a child. A leading figure in the Indianapolis community, Catchings spearheaded the launch of Catch the Stars Foundation to assist disadvantaged youth in helping to achieve their dreams, and has been honored several times for her charitable contributions. In 2000, she received the Reynolds Society Achievement Award by the world-famous Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary in Boston, and in 2008, was also awarded the Dawn Staley Community Leadership Award.

While being recognized for her charitable work off the court, the ninth-year pro is also having one of the most successful seasons of her career on the court. Named today as the 2010 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, an honor she earned for a record fourth time, Catchings averaged 18.2 points, 7.1 rebounds, 4.0 assists, a league-leading 2.3 steals, and 0.9 blocks during the regular season. A six-time WNBA All-Star, member of the WNBAs All-Decade Team, and two-time Olympic gold medalist, the University of Tennessee product has led the Fever back to the WNBA Playoffs for a sixth consecutive season.

In honor of being named the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award winner, Catchings will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co. An additional $5,000 will be designated to the charity of her choice.

Below are the voting results of the 2010 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award.

Votes Player Team
10 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
5 Shanna Crossley Tulsa Shock
4 Taj McWilliams-Franklin New York Liberty
3 Ticha Penicheiro Los Angeles Sparks
3 Rebekkah Brunson Minnesota Lynx
3 Tangela Smith Phoenix Mercury
3 Crystal Langhorne Washington Mystics
2 Shalee Lehning Atlanta Dream
2 Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky
2 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
1 Asjha Jones Connecticut Sun

Year Player Team
2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs
2008 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Silver Stars
2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever
2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets
2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun
2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx
2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs
2002 Jennifer Gillom Chicago Sky
2001 Sue Wicks Seattle Storm
2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting
1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

Series Info
Game 1: SEA 79, ATL 77: Box | Recap | Photos | Video
Game 2: SEA 87, ATL 84: Box | Recap | Photos | Video
Game 3: SEA 87, ATL 84: Box | Recap | Photos | Video

Gm 1: SEA 82, PHX 74
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 2: SEA 91, PHX 88
Box | Recap | Photos

Gm 1: SEA 79, LAS 66
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 2: SEA 81, LAS 66
Box | Recap | Photos

Gm 1: PHX 106, SAN 93
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 2: PHX 92, SAN 73
Box | Recap | Photos

Gm 1: ATL 81, NYL 75
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 2: ATL 105, NYL 93
Box | Recap | Photos

Gm 1: ATL 95 WAS 90
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 2: ATL 101 WAS 77
Box | Recap | Photos

Gm 1: NYL 85, IND 73
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 2: IND 75, NYL 67
Box | Recap | Photos
Gm 3: NYL 77, IND 74
Box | Recap | Photos