Maya Moore Wins China Championship Again


WNBA players are scattered around the world during the offseason. Between Asia, Australia, and the EuroLeague, players from all 12 teams are competing in over a dozen countries around the world. Click here for an interactive map of the location of WNBA players abroad and see the most recent list below (subject to change, as not all players will be spending the entire winter abroad). Below we have compiled the latest news on your favorite WNBA players around the globe.

March 5, 2014 -- Minnesota Lynx superstar and 2013 WNBA Finals MVP Maya Moore added another championship to her growing collection, leading Shanxi Xing Rui Flame to a second straight Chinese Women's League title yesterday defeating Liz Cambage and Beijing 82-73 on March 4.

Moore completed another stellar season in China by scoring 39 points, grabbing 10 rebounds, dishing out six assists and making six steals, besting fellow WNBAer Liz Cambage of the Tulsa Shock in the championship final for the second year in a row. Cambage posted a monster 35-point, 19-rebound game for Beijing.

Liz Cambage. FIBA/Asia.

The China Women's League is not on the same timeline as their European counterparts, resulting in an early championship tilt in March, pitting WNBA stars Maya Moore and her Shanxi Xing Rui Flame squad against Liz Cambage and Beijing. Another key difference from the traditional European model is that each Chinese squad is limited to one foreign player (ie. Moore on Shanxi and Cambage on Beijing).

"Playing in China is a great opportunity, both on the court and off the court," said Moore to "It's a chance for me to work on different skills. I do a lot more ball-handling for my China team and I'm the primary focus of the offense, and that is something that can help me improve and grow. But in addition to improving personally, I am out here to win too, and that is something I always want to do. I want to go out and be the best and beat the best. All the time."

Moore and the defending champion Lynx tip off the 2014 WNBA season against the Washington Mystics at 7pm ET on Friday, May 16.

Player Country Team

de Souza, ErikaBrazilRecife
Hayes, TiffanyBrazilRecife
Bentley, AlexBrazilRecife
McCoughtry, AngelTurkeyFenerbahce
Lyttle, SanchoTurkeyGalatasary

Fowles, SylviaChinaShanghai
Murphy, ShaySpainSalamanca
Prince, EpiphannyRussiaDynmao Kursk
Campbell, MichelleTurkeyIstanbul Universitesi
Quigley, AlliePolandWisla Can-Pack
Vandersloot, CourtneyHungaryUNI Gyor
Warley, AveryTurkeyOrduspor
Young, TameraIsraelAshdod

Charles, TinaRussiaDynamo Moscow
Bass, MistieFranceLyon
Castro Marques, IzianeBrazilTBD
Griffin, KelseyAustraliaBendigo Spirit
Hightower, AllisonIsraelElitzur Ramla
Jones, AsjhaRussiaSpartak Vidnoje
Montgomery, ReneeTurkeyTarsus
Faris, KellyHungarySopron
Pederson, KaylaAustraliaDandenong Rangers
White, TanTurkeyOrduspor

Christmas, KarimaIsraelRamat Hen
Clarendon, LayshiaCzech RepublicUSK Praha
Hassell, JasmineIsraelElitzur Natanya
Phillips, ErinPolandWisla Can Pack
Zellous, ShavonteTurkeyGalatasary

Los Angeles
Abdi, FarhiyaSlovakiaKosice
Beard, AlanaSouth KoreaShinhan
Coleman, MarissaSouth KoreaKB Stars
Mathies, A'diaSlovakiaKosice
O'Hea, JennaAustraliaDandenong Rangers
Ogwumike, NnemkadiChinaGuangdong
Parker, CandaceRussiaUMMC
Toliver, KristiRussiaDynamo Moscow
Lavender, JantelPolandWisla Can-Pack

Augustus, SeimoneRussiaDynamo Kursk
Brunson, RebekkahRussiaDynamo Kursk
Harris, AmberItalySchio
Jarry, RachelAustraliaMelbourne Boomers
McCarville, JanelPolandCCC Polkowice
Moore, LindseyItalyVirtus Elite
Moore, MayaChinaShanxi Xing Rui Flame
Peters, DevereauxRussiaNovosibirsk
Rodgers, SugarIsraelHapoel Rishon Le Zion
Whalen, LindsayRussiaDynamo Moscow
Wright, MonicaKoreaKEB Hanabank

New York
Bone, KelseyTurkeyGalatasary
Pondexter, CappieTurkeyFenerbahce
Milton-Jones DeLishaTurkeyTarsus
Mitchell, LeilaniAustraliaDandenong Rangers
Montgomery, AlexFranceTarbes
Pierson, PlenetteSlovakiaKosice (EuroLeague only)
Williams, KamikoIsraelHolon
Young, ToniIsraelRamat Hen

Bonner, DeWannaRussiaNadezhda
Dupree, CandiceRussiaDynamo Kursk
Griner, BrittneyChinaZhejiang Chouzhou
Houston, ChardeItalyUni Girona
James, JasmineBrazilSan Jose Colinas
Taurasi, DianaRussiaUMMC Ekaterinburg
Taylor, PennyRussiarehabbing injury
Thomas, KrystalSpainSalamanca

San Antonio
Adams, DanielleIsraelMaccabi Ashdod
Alexander, KaylaRussiaEnergy Ivanovo
Christon, ShamekaFranceLattes Montpelier
Johnson, SheniseTurkeyIstanbul Universitesi
Kraayeveld, CathrinePolandArtego Bydgoszcz
Poppens, ChelseaAustraliaTBD
Robinson, DanielleSpainSalamanca

Bird, SueRussiaUMMC Ekaterinburg
Hawkins, TiannaHungarySopron
Jackson, LaurenChinaHeliongjiang Chenneg
Johnson, TemekaRussiaNadezhda
Little, CamilleTurkeyPankup TED Kayseri
Robinson, AshleyKoreaSamsung Blue Life Minx
Stricklen, ShekinnaKoreaShinhan Bank S-Birds
Wright, TanishaTurkeyPankup TED Kayseri

Cambage, LizChinaBeijing
Goodrich, AngelRussiaChekavata
Hodges, RoneekaBrazilTBD
Jackson-Jones, TiffanyIsraelMaccabi Ashdod
Johnson, GloryRussiaNadezhda
Paris, CourtneyTurkeyMersin
Williams, RiqunaItalyVirtus Elite

Ajavon, MateeTurkeyMersin
Currie, MoniqueKoreaCheongju
Hill, TaylerIsraelRamat Hasharon
Hollingsworth, QuanitraTurkeyFenerbahce
Langhorne, CrystalTurkeyIstanbul Univerisitesi
McKenith, NadirahSpainCD Zamarat
Ruffin-Pratt, TierraTurkeyBesiktas
Snow, MichelleTurkeyBotas
Vaughn, KiaCzech RepublicUSK Praha
More »


USA vs. Canada

Team USA toppled Canada, 71-56, on Monday night in Bridgeport, Conn. Nneka Ogwumike was the team's leading scorer with 10 points.

Quigley with the SWEET Crossover move!

Check out Allie Quigley with the double crossover move to get to the hoop during Game 3 WNBA Finals!

Taurasi hits the Go-Ahead AND1 to WIN the WNBA Finals!

Check out Diana Taurasi hitting the biggest shot of the series to put the Mercury ahead for good in Game 3 of the WNBA Finals.

WNBA Spotlight Presented by Boost Mobile: Episode 12

This week, the WNBA Spotlight shines on Sylvia Fowles of the Chicago Sky.

2014 WNBA Finals – Game 3 Minimovie

An all-access look at the thrilling conclusion to the WNBA Finals – a back and forth classic that crowned the Phoenix Mercury the 2014 champions