Minnesota’s Suzie McConnell Serio Named 2004 WNBA Coach of the Year

NEW YORK, September 25 – The WNBA announced today that Minnesota Lynx Head Coach Suzie McConnell Serio was named the 2004 WNBA Coach of the Year, receiving 15 of a possible 48 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. McConnell Serio won the award by the closest margin in the history of the award, as she received one vote more than runner-up Mike Thibault (14), head coach of the Connecticut Sun.

McConnell Serio coached the Lynx to the third best record in the WNBA (18-16) and led them back to the playoffs for a second consecutive year. The Lynx earned the third seed in the West despite being without Olympian and perennial WNBA All-Star Katie Smith, who missed the final 11 games of the season due to injury. Minnesota’s 18 wins tied the franchise record set last season with McConnell Serio also at the helm. Below are the complete results of the 2004 WNBA Coach of the Year voting and past recipients:

15 Suzie McConnell Serio Minnesota Lynx
14 Mike Thibault Connecticut Sun
6 Carrie Graf Phoenix Mercury
4 Anne Donovan Seattle Storm
3 Karleen Thompson Los Angeles Sparks
3 Patty Coyle New York Liberty
2 Michael Adams Washington Mystics
1 Van Chancellor Houston Comets

2004 Suzie McConnell Serio Minnesota Lynx
2003 Bill Laimbeer Detroit Shock
2002 Marianne Stanley Washington Mystics
2001 Dan Hughes Cleveland Rockers
2000 Michael Cooper Los Angeles Sparks
1999 Van Chancellor Houston Comets
1998 Van Chancellor Houston Comets
1997 Van Chancellor Houston Comets

Four networks will carry 2004 WNBA Playoffs action, which tips off on September 24. ABC, ESPN2, NBA TV and Oxygen provide coverage through the Conference Finals. The 2004 WNBA Finals will be televised exclusively on ESPN2.

More »



Nneka Ogwumike records 18 points and 10 rebounds, Maya Moore adds 16 points as the USA Basketball team defeats Angola.


This week, the WNBA Spotlight shines on Brittney Griner of the Phoenix Mercury.

USA vs. Canada

Team USA toppled Canada, 71-56, on Monday night in Bridgeport, Conn. Nneka Ogwumike was the team's leading scorer with 10 points.

Quigley with the SWEET Crossover move!

Check out Allie Quigley with the double crossover move to get to the hoop during Game 3 WNBA Finals!

Taurasi hits the Go-Ahead AND1 to WIN the WNBA Finals!

Check out Diana Taurasi hitting the biggest shot of the series to put the Mercury ahead for good in Game 3 of the WNBA Finals.