2008 WNBA All-Defensive
Team Selections Announced

-- Two-Time Defensive Players of the Year Lisa Leslie and Tamika Catchings Highlight First Team --

NEW YORK, Sept. 19, 2008 -- The 2008 All-Defensive Team was announced today by the WNBA, headlined by Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie, the 2004 and 2008 Defensive Player of the Year. Leslie garnered 21 points while two-time Defensive Player of the Year Tamika Catchings finished second with 16 points.

Rounding out the All-Defensive First Team are San Antonio Silver Stars forward Sophia Young (12 points), Sacramento Monarchs guard Ticha Penicheiro (11 points) and Indiana Fever guard Tully Bevilaqua (11 points).

For Leslie, this marks her second selection to the All-Defensive First Team (2006) after being selected to the Second Team in 2005. Catchings is the only player to be named to the First Team in each of the four years the team has been named (2005-2008). Bevilaqua makes her third appearance on the All-Defensive First Team (2005 and 2006; Second Team, 2007). Both Young and Penicheiro were selected to the first All-Defensive Team of their respective careers.

The WNBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles (12 points), Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan (10 points), Seattle Storm forward Lauren Jackson (nine points), Sacramento Monarchs forward Rebekkah Brunson (eight points) and Detroit Shock guard Katie Smith (eight points).

Jackson was named the 2007 Defensive Player of the Year and was a member of the 2007 All-Defensive First Team while Nolan was selected to the First Team in 2007 and the Second Team in 2005 and 2006. Brunson was a member of the 2007 Second Team. Fowles, a rookie, and Smith were both voted to the Second Team for the first time.

The fourth annual WNBA All-Defensive Team was voted on by a panel of the WNBA's 14 head coaches, who selected First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

Below are the results for the 2008 WNBA All-Defensive Teams:

Player Team Position Points
Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks Center 22
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Forward 16
Sophia Young San Antonio Silver Stars Forward 12
Ticha Penicheiro Sacramento Monarchs Guard 11
Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever Guard 11

Player Team Position Points
Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky Center 12
Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock Guard 10
Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm Forward 9
Rebekkah Brunson Sacramento Monarchs Forward 8
Katie Smith Detroit Shock Guard 8

About the WNBA
Comprised of 14 teams, the WNBA is the most successful women's professional team sports league in the world. The WNBA concluded its 12th regular season with increases in key metrics including attendance, ratings and web traffic. The 2008 WNBA Playoffs presented by adidas began Thursday, Sept. 18 when both the Eastern and Western Conference Semifinals tipped off with games airing on ESPN2 and NBA TV.

Through WNBA Cares, the WNBA is deeply committed to creating programs that improve the quality of life for all people, with a special emphasis on programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and positive body image, increase breast and women's health awareness, support youth and family development, and focus on education. For more information on the WNBA, log on to www.wnba.com.

More »


Through the Lens: Fever vs. Sky Game 2

Check out some of the best highlights from the thrilling, double overtime game between the Indiana Fever and Chicago Sky through the eye of our super slow motion phantom camera!

Fowles Leads Sky In Game 2

Sylvia Fowles ended up with 27 points on an impressive 12-14 shooting, 7 rebounds, 3 blocks, and 3 steals to help the Chicago Sky tie the Eastern Conference Finals at 1 game apiece versus the Indiana Fever.

Postgame: Chicago Sky

Sky head coach Pokey Chatman and Sylvia Fowles talk postgame following Chicago's double overtime win over the Fever.

Fever vs. Sky - Game 2

Sylvia Fowles scores 27 points and the Chicago Sky beat the Indiana Fever 86-84 in two overtimes to even the best-of-three Eastern Conference finals on Monday.

Postgame: Indiana Fever

Fever head coach Lin Dunn and Tamika Catchings talk postgame after Indiana falls to the Chicago Sky in Game 2 in double overtime.