WNBA Names 2007 All-Rookie Team

-- Rookie of the Year
Armintie Price Leads Voting --

NEW YORK, Sept. 8, 2007 -- Chicago Sky guard Armintie Price, the league's 2007 Rookie of the Year, was the leading selection for the 2007 WNBA All-Rookie Team, the league announced today. Price is joined on the team by Minnesota Lynx guard Lindsey Harding, Los Angeles Sparks guards Sidney Spencer and Marta Fernandez and San Antonio Silver Stars forward Camille Little.

The voting panel consisted of the WNBA's 13 head coaches, who were asked to select five players regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team.

Price, the third overall pick in the 2007 WNBA Draft, played an integral role in helping the Sky improve from five wins in the franchise's inaugural season of 2006 to 14 wins in 2007. The former University of Mississippi standout helped keep the Sky in the playoff picture until the final week of the regular season and finished the season ranked third among rookies in both scoring (7.9) and assists (2.9) per game.

Despite missing the final 14 games due to a knee injury, Harding, the first overall selection of the 2007 WNBA Draft, led all rookies in scoring with 11.6 points per game, a figure that would have placed her among the league's top 25 scorers had she played in enough games to qualify among the league leaders. The former Duke Blue Devil finished second on the Lynx in assists (3.9 per game) behind only Noelle Quinn and led all WNBA rookies in combined points, rebounds and assists per game with a 19.9 average.

Spencer, the 25th overall pick in the 2007 Draft, played like a first-round selection, finishing second among WNBA rookies in scoring behind only Harding. Her 9.6 points per game also ranked second on the Los Angeles Sparks, trailing only the 11.1 average posted by veteran Taj McWilliams-Franklin. A rising three-point shooter, she was selected to participate in the 2007 Three-Point Shootout prior to the WNBA All-Star Game and went on to finish the year ranked first among rookies and 10th overall in the league with 54 three-pointers made.

Signed as a free agent from Spain, Fernandez ranked third among rookies in scoring (8.7 ppg) and assists (3.0 apg). Her scoring average ranked behind only McWilliams-Franklin and Spencer on the Sparks, while her assists average led the squad.

Little, University of North Carolina product, helped San Antonio earn a berth in the Playoffs after being a force on the boards, pulling down 4.5 rebounds per game, second best among all first-year players.

Below are the results for the 2007 WNBA All-Rookie Team:


Player Team Position Points
Armintie Price Chicago Sky Guard 12
Sidney Spencer Los Angeles Sparks Guard/Forward 11
Lindsey Harding Minnesota Lynx Guard 10
Camille Little San Antonio Silver Stars Forward 10
Marta Fernandez Los Angeles Sparks Guard 8

About the WNBA
Featuring 13 teams and the greatest female basketball players in the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women's professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2007 WNBA Playoffs tipped off on August 23 with complete coverage through the Conference Finals being provided by ABC, ESPN2 and NBA TV. The 2007 WNBA Finals began on September 5 and are being televised on ESPN/ESPN2.

More »


2014 WNBA Finals – Game 3 Minimovie

An all-access look at the thrilling conclusion to the WNBA Finals – a back and forth classic that crowned the Phoenix Mercury the 2014 champions

Wireless: Coach Brondello Sets Up Diana Taurasi's Game Winner!

Take an inside, wireless lok at Phoenix Mercury head coach Sandy Brondello setting up Diana Taurasi's epic, game-winning shot in Game 3 of the WNBA Finals to perfection!

Taurasi's 24-point MVP Performance in Finals Win!

Check out this highlight clip of the 2014 WNBA Finals MVP Diana Taurasi, as she pours in 24-points in the championship-clinching win over the Chicago Sky.

2014 Finals MVP: Diana Taurasi

Watch WNBA President Laurel Richie present Diana Taurasi with the 2014 WNBA Finals MVP Award.

Through The Lens: Phoenix Rising

Relive the Mercury’s 2014 Championship win over the Chicago Sky through the slow-motion action of the phantom cam lens.