2007 WNBA All-Defensive Team Selections Announced

NEW YORK, August 24, 2007 – Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, the WNBA’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2005 and 2006, was the leading selection for the 2007 WNBA All-Defensive First Team announced by the WNBA today. Catchings, a three-time First Team honoree, received 24 points while Seattle Storm center Lauren Jackson followed with 21 points. This is Jackson’s first appearance as a member of the WNBA All-Defensive First Team after being named to the 2005 Second Team.

Rounding out the First Team are Connecticut Sun guard Katie Douglas (16 points), Washington Mystics forward Alana Beard (12 points) and Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan (10 points).

Douglas was voted to the First Team for the third consecutive year, while both Beard and Nolan were members of the Second Team in 2005 and 2006.

The WNBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of Indiana Fever guard Tully Bevilaqua (9 points), Sacramento Monarchs forward Rebekkah Brunson (9 points), Connecticut Sun center Margo Dydek (9 points), New York Liberty guard Loree Moore (6 points) and Sacramento Monarchs guard Chelsea Newton (6 points). Bevilaqua was selected to the First Team in 2005 and 2006. Dydek enjoys her second-consecutive Second Team selection, while Brunson, Moore and Newton were voted to the Second Team for the first time.

The third annual WNBA All-Defensive Team was voted on by a panel of the WNBA’s 13 head coaches, who selected First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

Below are the results for the 2007 WNBA All-Defensive Teams:


Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Forward 24
Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm Center 21
Katie Douglas Connecticut Sun Guard 16
Alana Beard Washington Mystics Forward 12
Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock Guard 10


Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever Guard 9
Rebekkah Brunson Sacramento Monarchs Forward 9
Margo Dydek Connecticut Sun Center 9
Loree Moore New York Liberty Guard 6
Chelsea Newton Sacramento Monarchs Guard 6

About the WNBA
Featuring 13 teams and the greatest female basketball players in the world, the WNBA is the longest-running and most successful women’s professional team sports league in U.S. history. The 2007 WNBA Playoffs tipped off on August 23 with complete coverage through the Conference Finals being provided by ABC, ESPN2 and NBA TV. The 2007 WNBA Finals begin on September 5 and will be televised on ESPN and ESPN2.

More »


#LeanInTogether: NBA & WNBA Stars Are In–Are You?

See why LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Skylar Diggins, and Elena Delle Donne are leaning in for equality—and visit LeanInTogether.org to learn more. When men lean in for equality, everyone wins.

Douglas on Hosting All-Star

5-time WNBA All-Star Katie Douglas says it's an honor to host the 2015 All-Star and WNBA Draft at Mohegan Sun.

Elena Delle Donne and Tamika Catchings Support Lauren Hill

Last week, Lauren Hill of Mount St. Joseph University courageously took the floor for her first college game, refusing to let an inoperable brain tumor keep her from achieving her dream – and WNBA stars Elena Delle Donne and Tamika Catchings were on hand to lend their support.

All-Access: NBA All-Star Relay

To promote healthy living, the NBA teamed up with New York Road Runners for the first-ever marathon relay.

Hammon Makes Coaching Debut

Becky Hammon makes history as the first woman to be a full time NBA coach.