WNBA General Managers make their picks for 2009
GM Survey: Defense

Who is the best player in the game? Who is the best coach? Which team has the best chance of taking the title from the Detroit Shock? Which player would GMs sign first if they were starting a team today?

Once again, WNBA.com posed questions to the league's general managers to learn what the people who make the decisions really think about these topics and more.

Who will win the Defensive Player of the Year Award?
1. Tamika Catchings 25.0%
Tamika Catchings
Lisa Leslie 25.0%
3. Sylvia Fowles 16.7%
Lauren Jackson 16.7%
5. Hamchetou Maiga-Ba 8.3%
Deanna Nolan 8.3%

Who is the best perimeter defender in the WNBA?
1. Tamika Catchings 27.2%
Deanna Nolan
Deanna Nolan 27.2%
3. Alana Beard 9.1%
Vickie Johnson 9.1%
Chelsea Newton 9.1%
Erin Perperoglou 9.1%
Armintie Price 9.1%

Who is the best interior defender in the WNBA?
1. Lisa Leslie 50.0%
Lisa Leslie
2. Sylvia Fowles 16.7%
3. Tamika Catchings 8.3%
Lauren Jackson 8.3%
Taj McWilliams 8.3%
DeLisha Milton-Jones 8.3%

More Survey Results
2009 Predictions Best players Offseason moves Rookies, International
Defense Top coaches Skills & Abilities Intangibles
Who will win the Defensive Player of the Year Award?
Who will win the Defensive Player of the Year Award?
View Results



The Tulsa War Room

Go inside the Tulsa war room as the Shock select Odyssey Sims with the second overall pick in the 2014 WNBA Draft.

Katie Douglas on 1st Overall Pick

Katie Douglas talks about welcoming the first overall pick, Chiney Ogwumike to the Connecticut Sun.

2014 WNBA Draft Bus Q and A

Chelsea Gray leads an entertaining Q and A on the bus with fellow members of her draft class.

Ogwumike and Sims Share Draft Night Excitement

Chiney Ogwumike amd Odyssey Sims share a moment of excitement after their 2014 WNBA Draft experience.

WNBA Draft: Pick 11

The Connecticut Sun select Chelsea Gray from Duke University with the eleventh pick in the 2014 WNBA Draft.