Sacramento’s Nicole Powell Named 2005 WNBA Most Improved Player

NEW YORK, Sept. 2 – Monarchs forward Nicole Powell was named the 2005 WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year, receiving 20 of a possible 49 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters, the WNBA announced today.

Powell made the most of her off-season trade to Sacramento from Charlotte by posting career highs in points (10.7 ppg), rebounds (3.6 rpg), steals (1.15 spg), assists (1.8 apg), three-point field-goal percentage (.415), free-throw percentage (.806) and minutes played (29.1 mpg).

Powell led the league in most three-pointers made (66), and ranked ninth in league in three-point field goal percentage and 15th in free throw percentage. She finished the season as Sacramento’s third leading scorer and fourth leading rebounder.

As the WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year, Powell will receive a Tiffany-designed trophy and $5,000.

Below are the results of the 2005 WNBA Most Improved Player voting and past recipients.


Player Team Votes
Nicole Powell Sacramento Monarchs 20
Janell Burse Seattle Storm 13
Ann Wauters New York Liberty 6
Dominique Canty Houston Comets 2
Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun 2
Kamila Vodichkova Phoenix Mercury 2
Alana Beard Washington Mystics 1
Michelle Snow Houston Comets 1
DeMya Walker Sacramento Monarchs 1
Lindsay Whalen Connecticut Sun 1


2005 Nicole Powell Sacramento Monarchs
2004 Wendy Palmer/Kelly Miller Connecticut Sun/Indiana Fever
2003 Michelle Snow Houston Comets
2002 Coco Miller Washington Mystics
2001 Janeth Arcain Houston Comets
2000 Tari Phillips New York Liberty

Four networks will carry 2005 WNBA Playoffs action. ABC, ESPN, ESPN2 and NBA TV will provide coverage through the conference finals. The 2005 WNBA Finals will be televised on ABC and ESPN2.

More »


Schimmel Top 10 Plays of 2014

Check out Shoni Schimmel's top 10 plays from the 2014 WNBA season.

Diggins’ Top 10 Plays of 2014

Check out Skylar Diggins’ Top 10 Plays of the 2014 WNBA Season.

WNBA Most Improved Player of the Year Presented by Samsung: Skylar Diggins

Tulsa Shock’s Skylar Diggins is the 2014 Samsung Most Improved Player of the Year.

Elena Delle Donne Hits the Game Winner!

Watch as Elena Delle Donne hits the bucket to seal the victory for the Sky, advancing Chicago to the Eastern Conference Finals.

Shoni Schimmel Makes the Precision Pass to Hayes!

Shoni Schimmel goes "showtime" with this laser accurate pass to Tiffany Hayes, who converts the alley-oop layup.