Charles Named to All-WNBA Second Team

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (Sept. 13, 2010) – Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles added another award to her postseason collection Monday, earning a spot on the 2010 All-WNBA Second Team.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters. Players were selected by position and received five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team designation.

"I am really happy for Tina,” Sun coach Mike Thibault said. “She certainly earned this honor with her play on the court. We got a glimpse of the future this season, and all of us are excited about what's in store for her and our team over the next few years.”

Charles was named the 2010 WNBA Rookie of the Year after establishing new single-season league records with 398 total rebounds and 22 double-doubles. Charles also set new franchise records with 269 defensive rebounds and 129 offensive rebounds, and she led the Sun in scoring, averaging 15.5 points per game.

"We are all excited for Tina," Vice President and General Manager Chris Sienko said. "This was well deserved. Tina had a great rookie season, and she is going to be a cornerstone of this franchise for a long time."

Charles was joined by Seattle Storm point guard Sue Bird, Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry, Washington Mystics forward Crystal Langhorne and Indiana Fever guard Katie Douglas.

WNBA First-Team members include Seattle Storm center Lauren Jackson, New York Liberty guard Cappie Pondexter, Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi and Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles.

For a complete list of the First and Second Team, click here.