Lawson Wins Sportsmanship Award

NEW YORK, Sept. 27, 2012 – Connecticut Sun guard Kara Lawson was named the recipient of the 2012 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. Lawson, who also won the award in 2009, received 18 of 41 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters. San Antonio guard Becky Hammon finished second with five votes.

Designed to honor a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship – ethical behavior, fair play and integrity – the award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships, before passing away in August 1999, after a seven-month battle with cancer.

In her 10th season in the WNBA, Lawson has become a fan favorite in Connecticut. She previously received this honor in 2009 as a member of the Sacramento Monarchs. She is a presence in the Connecticut community and partakes in countless events and speaking engagements. Lawson has been actively involved in raising both funds and awareness for Alzheimer's research since her collegiate head coach, Pat Summitt, was diagnosed with early-onset dementia, Alzheimer’s type, last August. This season, she pledged to donate $50 for each 3-pointer made to the Pat Summitt Foundation, and the Connecticut Sun and Mohegan Sun matched her donation. Lawson set a new franchise record with 74 made 3's this season, donating $3,700 personally to the cause.

"I am very proud of all that Kara has accomplished this year on and off the court,” said Connecticut coach Mike Thibault. “Her willingness to fully integrate herself into the Connecticut community and be an example for young and old alike speaks volumes about her -- most importantly as a person. Her ongoing work for the Pat Summitt Foundation, as well as many other charitable causes, is a testament to her character and commitment to helping others. She is a big reason for our success on the court this season, but she will have an even greater long-lasting effect off the court."

This season Lawson is averaging career-highs in points (15.1 ppg), assists (4.0 apg) and rebounds (3.9). For her career, Lawson has appeared in 318 games, averaging 9.9 points, 2.4 assists and 2.5 rebounds. Lawson helped the Sun finish with an overall record of 25-9, second best in the league and No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference for the 2012 WNBA Playoffs presented by Boost Mobile.

"I followed the WNBA from the beginning. I was in high school when it started so I got a chance to watch Houston winning four in a row, and the first couple of championships with Kim,” said Lawson. “Being a point guard like her, I know the respect she had around the league, so to receive this award in her name means a lot. When you look at the players who have won it on down the line, they're really high character players. All of those people are people to admire and people who hold themselves to a really high standard when they play the game."

In honor of being named the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award winner, Lawson will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co. An additional $5,000 will be designated to the charity of her choice.

Below are the voting results of the 2012 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of past recipients.


Votes Player Team
18Kara LawsonConnecticut Storm
5Becky HammonSan Antonio Silver Stars
3Alana BeardLos Angeles Sparks
3DeWanna BonnerPhoenix Mercury
2Arminitie PriceAtlanta Dream
2Rebekkah BrunsonMinnesota Lynx
2Tammy Sutton-BrownIndiana Fever
2Jasmine ThomasWashington Mystics
1Swin CashChicago Sky
1Temeka JohnsonTulsa Shock
1Cappie PondexterNew York Liberty


Year Player Team
2012Kara LawsonConnecticut Sun
2011Sue BirdSeattle Storm

Ruth RileySan Antonio Silver Stars
2010Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2009Kara LawsonSacramento Monarchs
2008Vickie JohnsonSan Antonio Silver Stars
2007Tully BevilaquaIndiana Fever
2006Dawn StaleyHouston Comets
2005Taj McWilliams-FranklinConnecticut Sun
2004Teresa EdwardsMinnesota Lynx
2003Edna CampbellSacramento Monarchs
2002Jennifer GillomPhoenix Mercury
2001Sue WicksNew York Liberty
2000Suzie McConnell SerioCleveland Rockers
1999Dawn StaleyCharlotte Sting
1998Suzie McConnell SerioCleveland Rockers
1997Haixia ZhengLos Angeles Sparks