Connecticut Sun Unveils All-Decade Team

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (September 19, 2012) — As part of a season-long celebration of its 10th anniversary, the Connecticut Sun unveiled its All-Decade Team prior to tipoff of the game against the Indiana Fever on Wednesday night at Mohegan Sun Arena.

Beginning in May, Sun fans were asked to vote on-line for their top 10 players from a list of the 55 players who have competed in a regular season game since the franchise relocated to Connecticut prior to the 2003 season. Media who cover the team were also asked to vote. The final votes were collected August 31st.

The final list includes five members of the 2012 team – Tina Charles, Asjha Jones, Kara Lawson, Renee Montgomery and Tan White. The first Sun team is represented by Katie Douglas, Taj McWilliams-Franklin and Nykesha Sales. Former Sun point guard Lindsay Whalen and the late Margo Dydek round out the list.

“It’s nice to see a list that is representative of the entire decade of our existence here in Connecticut,” Sun Vice President and General Manager Chris Sienko said. “We have had an amazing collection of athletes wear the Sun uniform over the last 10 seasons. All of them have contributed to our success. Our fans have done a wonderful job picking an All-Decade team from that stellar group.”

Charles, Jones, Lawson, Montgomery, White and Douglas – now a member of the Fever – were on hand when the All-Decade Team was revealed. Each player was presented with a bouquet of flowers and a framed commemorative poster by Sienko, Sun CEO Mitchell Etess and head coach Mike Thibault.