During its July 12 game against the L.A. Sparks, the Seattle Storm will host its third annual Women of Inspiration Night, honoring a group of accomplished women who have been trailblazers in their fields.

“Part of the mission of the Storm is to provide young girls and boys role models they can look to for inspiration, to show them what is possible to achieve in life when you work hard and reach for your dreams. This night is an opportunity to shine the spotlight on women who have dedicated themselves to helping others and have done so much to give back to the community,’’ Seattle Storm CEO Karen Bryant said.

This year’s honorees are Dr. Sutapa Basu, Mimi Gates, Ramona Pierson and Colleen Willoughby. The Storm’s Women of Inspiration Night is sponsored by Wells Fargo and Saturn and will include a special ceremony during halftime of the game.

Storm.wnba.com takes a look back at the inspirational women honored in 2006 and 2007. Click on each woman's name to view her profile.

2008 Recipients:
Dr. Sutapa Basu - executive director, University of Washington Women's Center
Mimi Gates - director, Seattle Art Museum
Ramona Pierson - founder & CEO, SynapticMash
Colleen Willoughby - founding president, Washington Women's Foundation

Past Recipients:
Patricia Barker - retired prima ballerina with Pacific Northwest Ballet
Bonnie Dunbar, Ph. D - president and CEO of The Museum of Flight and retired NASA Astronaut
Trish Millines Dziko - co-founder and executive director of the Technology Access Foundation
Rosa Franklin - Washington State Senator and member of the Washington State Nurses Association Hall of Fame
Kathi Goertzen - KOMO 4 News
Doris Heritage - head coach of the Seattle Pacific University’s women’s cross country team and a former U.S. Olympic runner
Sally Jewell - president and CEO of REI
Dr. Mary-Claire King - American Cancer Society professor of medicine and genome sciences at the University of Washington
Karen Moyer - co-founder and vice president of The Moyer Foundation
Mary Ellen Stone - executive director of the King County Sexual Assault Resource Center
Courtney Thompson - member of the NCAA champion UW women’s volleyball team

The Storm is proud to continue its legacy of representing and saluting women at their best, on and off the court.